top of page
  • Writer's pictureWhitney Wisdom

Whitney Wisdom Season 2 Finale


Peace Season Two. What's up Season Three?

It would be naive to say anything - literally anything - from July 2020-July 2021 (the months that create Year 2 of this blog) went according to plan. However I am grateful to have lived through - and written about such a major shift in how people dress. The number of guests I was able to work with became very limited for safety reasons this season, but that didn’t stop me from doin’ my own thang.


Originally for this Season 2 Finale I wanted to deflate an old trend; something I wrote about in 2019 or 2020 that didn’t make it through covid. As I reviewed each story (I have 75 published!), I found that while I do write about trends on occasion, most of my articles are much more evergreen than just the hottest items “of the moment” and are a lot more news/current events-oriented than I realized. For instance “Vote” clothing is not as hot as it was leading up to the election of course, but, the message of democracy will never go out of style. So instead of ripping apart old fads (though if you want to see me do that check out: Leave it in the ‘10s) I’m celebrating some of this season’s most widely read stories because, who doesn’t love a good top ten countdown? (The titles are linked and certainly worthy of a re-read.)


No sleeves but, I've got tricks.

Traditionally when I write shopping articles I link fun, unexpected pieces that are still on-budget for my fashion-loving readers. In this article I broke that mold and took on Christmas shopping through an aspirational lens. Which of course, was ironic because last Christmas very few of us had money. Each season I check out the runway trends and watch the evolution as it trickles down to mass retailers. If you want to get the look first - this is the read for you.


Anything that says “Vote”: bags, boots, t-shirts, retro-inspired pins is our generation’s Rosie the Riveter. Save this memorabilia. Don’t have any Vote gear? Read this article and expect major sale pricing!


Spoiler alert: it’s me! This was the second article I wrote for Season 2 now, about a year ago. I shared what I got when I went “Back to Work Shopping” because, yes, work temporarily closed as well as Fall Fashion predictions for 2020. Half of the reason I make predictions is to review the following year. See if I was right with 2020 hindsight.


I wrote this back in September and the one shoulder top continued to catch fire ever since. There are so many ways to wear them! Read and get inspired!


Being comfy without looking like a bum is the ultimate 2020/2021 style secret. In this article I share tricks of the trade as Shelby Cochran rocks her yoga set. Parking garages prove once again to be one of my favorite photoshoot backdrops. Next time you're in a garage go to the top floor, snap a pic. You’ll see what I mean.


Kamala Harris will forever be known as the person who made the White House a Women’s House. She’s such an inspiration to me but, I figured she’d be too busy literally saving the world to model for my blog so, I put together a Kamala-inspired look where Converse stole the show. When I wrote this article in October, 2020, it was still debate season. I had also just sprained my ankle and couldn’t walk without assistance. So I stuffed my feet into flat Converse and made the hallway in my apartment building a runway because that’s as far as I could get. Can ya tell?


Solar Powered.

I was surprised this article caught so much traction as I had published it 8 months after Pantone announced their 2020 Color of the Year yet, also not surprised because Classic Blue is such a well-loved tone. This color flatters us all. Peruse ways to add more blue into your looks.


What can I say? This blog loves an Isabel Tague feature. This was the only shoot of the season that I envisioned in the meadows surrounded by greenery. Crochet and textured fabrics are still skyrocketing for summer 2021 and will likely take the form of sweater tops for fall. Read the Wisdom.


Catch Kristen Turner slay jumpsuit after jumpsuit so effortlessly you’d never guess we spent the afternoon before the shoot splitting a pizza while the Eagles lost...again. Plus I do a deep dive on the history of jumpsuits and why they’re better than rompers. You’ll have to read it to believe it.


A big plus that came out of 2020 was the increased desire to #shopsmall. This article features five entrepreneurs that when combined, sell just about everything you need to ornament yourself and your home. Thanks to all the shares by these businesses - this is my #1 most read story of all time. If you are a small business owner or know someone who would make a great feature I’d love to write about you!


The big two-do!

As I enter into year 3, my knowledge of fashion photography is so much larger than when I started - I want to tackle more urban landscapes. High Society, if you will. My second photoshoot ever (Summer 2019) for Show Some Love for the Middle Child was in the sunny July heat and shadows haunted my every move. Not to mention I was moving quickly in hopes to not sweat through my sweater. The concept was there. The article was on denim midi skirts and I felt like the one I own (by Holding Horses) lends itself to a classic Wild West vibe. Living in the Northeast, I decided to do the shoot at the next most Americana place: a baseball park.


Learning how to execute all the wild ideas milling in my head is the tough part. But, Year 3 is looking like a charmer. Explore Innovative Outfits: From my Closet to Your Screen. Pop your email into the very bottom of the home page to get an alert each time a new article is published.


Same place, same time but, next Sunday we'll be diving into Season Three!

67 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page