top of page
  • Writer's pictureWhitney Wisdom

The Quest for Beach Coverups


Monochrome swimsuit and coverup separates make for a successful beach happy hour!

I love to write about what I am shopping for and right now I am on a quest for cute and functional bathing suit coverups. And trust me, shopping for a coverup can be a journey!

*All images are hyperlinked back to their original website. I take 0 credit for these images.*


Here are my criteria for said perfect beach coverup:

  1. It has to be cheap. I can’t be wearing my finest garb on the beach! I get attached to my clothes and anything that is too cute or too expensive can’t get the 4 S’s on it: salt, sand, sweat and sunscreen. BUT, le fabulous coverup cannot be too cheap that it shows the 4 S’s. Salt stains are the opposite of cute.

  2. It has to match most of my bikinis. I’m not doing a different coverup for each swimsuit because whenever I go to the beach I like to pack light. Suitcase space must be maximized! With all the swimming I do my coverups live for more seasons than my swimsuits, so coverups also have to be neutral enough to match future swimwear.

  3. It has to be loose. Breathability is another factor to look for in a coverup that a lot of people forget about. Beach days are always hot and wet, often humid. Mesh and lightweight water resistant materials are best. I often opt for dresses, skirts, or oversized tops over shorts and pants for added freedom for my sandy legs.

  4. It has to make sense with a baseball cap. I have a variety of hats I rotate through in summer but they’re all baseball caps. I tried for a few seasons to get into the whole floppy hat thing. I love this look but found it to be impractical for me and protecting your face from UV rays should feel easy.

Freedom felt like summer then, on the coast.

Here are the candidates:

  1. Mesh Sarong: My ideal mesh sarong is one that is long enough to cover my butt but not too long that it drags or collects sand. Though I love tropical prints I’d go with a classic black to match all my present and future bathing suits.

  2. Baggy Button Down: If I end up not liking long sleeves for the beach I can repurpose as a key layering piece for my office looks! So really the risk is 0. A button down as a beach coverup has to be on the oversized side for sun coverage.

  3. Cotton Dress: This is core. Dresses that cover your back and shoulders are ideal since those are high sunburn spots.








Other Beach Girl Accessories I’m Considering:

1. Waver: I’ve slept in braids, crimped, scrunched, and everything in between to get those mermaid waves. According to the internet, this waver tool is key. The reason I’m influenced to make a purchase is it looks quick and easy to use - just like straightening hair.



2. Silicone Bag: Though this does come in handy for the beach I am more about it for the pool. I keep a bag next to my lounge chair on the pool deck which is often wet so something waterproof is a must!



19 views0 comments

Opmerkingen


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page