top of page
  • Writer's pictureWhitney Wisdom

What I Look for when Thrifting


This feels like it was worn by a Beverly.

Vintage. Upcycled. Sustainable fashion. Whatever you want to call, taking in used clothing or jewelry and adopting it as your own has never been hotter! Separating trash from treasures can be time consuming so I’ve laid out some tips to help you maximize your shopping time in the secondhand shop jungle.


Types of Thrift Shops: There are many different kinds of thrift stores. Designer vintage (self-explanatory and the most expensive), consignment or what I like to call “It had an old home” shops, or a Goodwill-style “I want this crap out of my house” shop (the cheapest.) I find most things at the mid-tier “It had an old home” store because, these stores are particular about what they let in but, not so choosey that prices are insane. These stores typically have old items that lend to modern trends or with a little love can be of trendsetter caliber. Perfection! In addition, I appreciate the store vetting the things I usually check for like stains, fit, brand etc. It just makes my life easier.


Designer vintage shops do give me a thrill but if I’m dropping all that dough, I want the garment to be brand new and all mine.


The Goodwills of the world can be fun too especially if you are looking for something to wear once or just a few times for a costume, holiday, etc. If I am looking to upcycle some men’s Levi’s by painting them and cutting them into girls' jorts, I’d go to a “Get this crap out of my house store” so I can buy a few pairs in case I mess up while playing designer. Needless to mention, price has even a bigger impact when shopping for thrifted goods.


I mean....this is just calling my name!

1. Condition: Stains, rips, and smell are all things you have to look out for when thrifting. You’d be surprised how many people leave thrift stores not realizing their “new” shirt is stained. We are not conditioned to look for defects when shopping however, when buying used anything it's a must.


Blousy silky printed tops are as back as discoballs!

2. Care Instructions: Do I know every person in America? No. But I know myself and I know my friends and anything that says “dry clean only” is simply not getting washed. I pass on these items unless it is truly an amazing buy and I think I can hand wash it. Under this general rule of thumb these items are cleanest to thrift: tshirts, jeans, shorts, skirts, accessories, and jewelry. These items I am more skeptical as to the last time they were washed: sweaters, coats, and dresses.


Honestly seeing this v-neck red leather top at Philly Vintage Baazar was the inspiration for this entire article. I was left breathless by this vest.

3. Brand: Brand is a good indicator of quality and value. For something like Uggs I look up what it would cost me to buy new to weigh if the thrifted find is really a good one.


4. Time Period: I was a Fashion History minor for a hot sec before I realized the minor was pointless, so I love trying to guess when a piece of clothing was first manufactured. It's a little game I play with myself as I root through 70s suede, 80s shoulder pads, and 90s track jackets.


Pre-Millennium vacay crewneck was for sure scooped up by a Disney Adult right after I snuck this pic.

5. Sequins: My eye is naturally drawn to sparkle and there’s nothing I can do to stop this pattern.


6. Refurbished Denim: Almost every clothing store in the world sells jeans so if I’m buying secondhand denim I want it to be truly unique with vintage paintsplatters, embroidery, tassels or the like.


Clearly Paris Hilton inspired.

Let's give acid wash more than a moment in quarantine.

We love pocket detailing espeically in jewelry's favorite color, gold!

7. Finishing Touches: I have way less concerns buying the finishing touches at thrift stores such as belts and scarves. Belts and scarves are so versatile and have the power to take any modern day outfit through a time vault. Defect are also obvious to spot.


Oh the possibilities...

Anything mod is an opportunity for success! This belt would look equally chic with lipstick red or all black.

8. Records: Records range from $1-100s depending on the popularity of the album and the artist. Buying the $1 records is a great way to use records as decor! There are so many vinyl crafts out there if you give it a quick Pinterest search but, the easiest I’ve seen is hammering a nail in the wall and putting the center of the record around it to hang on the wall.


I love the idea of using vinyl's like a deluxe labeling system!

9. Decanters, Vases, & Trays: #9 can best be summarized as “stuff to hold other stuff.” Vintage organization pieces are what I am currently looking at to decorate the ledges and open shelves in my apartment. A few old scotch bottles have become my new favorite bud vases. Using something in a new way, that it was not its maker’s intended use just feels cool.


I like shopping for just about anything so if anyone ever needs some help poppin’ tags I’d gladly come along.


Petition to make refillable perfume bottles come back!

Yessss to whatever this is!

29 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page