top of page
  • Writer's pictureWhitney Wisdom

An Insider's Look to Designing a Retailer's Holiday Beauty Line


It is wild to think only one person in this photo is more senior than myself.

It is unheard of to get full control over a holiday collection going into 1,300+ stores this early in anyone’s career. I “just graduated” in 2018 - the year before I started this blog. But, Selena Gomez told me I’m rare so here I am - a 20-something, non-homeowner, driving a 2003, responsible for buying and let’s be real, designing product that contributes to 85% of my department’s yearly sales. We’re talking a couple million in sales each week. For those who don't know I am a buyer for a major USA retailer, that you've all probably shopped. Here’s the timeline of how the gifts actually get under your tree. If you want the short version: buyers are literally Santa. (Our vendors are the elves.)


The Timeline of a Holiday Gift Set:

I designed the 2022 Holiday Beauty Collection by sleeping a lot less and eating my meals by bluelight. It’s also important to note all the products you can buy in stores today has been finalized since April.


I spent January-March working with my vendor partners and factories to design tiktok trendy cosmetic sets, fragrances, nails, and cosmetic accessory products. I physically set up my vision of the sales floor with preproduction samples in our mockup store. I also had to present the space to get sign off from all the execs.

April-May was refining the total buy units based on sales forecasts and sales history. I also had to give every product a “home” and turn that into our Visual team to communicate with stores.


June was dareisay, chill? I gathered last minute samples and made alterations to the artwork on the packaging, colors, and copy. Once all items were approved by legal and custom trades I could get into actually placing the purchase orders with vendors, ensuring the units were divisible by the casepack size.


July-October was making sure every unit gets on a container - which is tough when you work at a desk in Philly. I finally had a team, who I trained to help intensely track each palette every step of the way to make sure all my hard work paid off. Everything I do is pointless if the products never get to the store so “supply chain hiccups” feel more like a full-fledged vomit to me. And now, my first holiday collection is finally in every Five Below in America!


Here’s what I think will be our top performers that I am very excited to show off in 41 states! No particular order, because each of these buys is very important to me. Let me know your fave(s)! Being a buyer isn’t rewarding everyday like being a surgeon or a firefighter is but, it does warm my heart to know without my fierce negotiations - not backing down for the $5 cap, is the only way some families can afford to do Christmas. Buy for everyone you know because, afterall each set is $5 or below.


1. Happy Feet: When I told me boss I was sourcing an 11 pc. pedicure set, he couldn't believe it! Most retailers do large nail polish sets but I wanted our customer to have all the tools she needs to get in the tub and give herself a professional pedi without leaving the house! No overpriced salons and no waiting in line! This is also a great item for the store staff, who stands for their full shift to gift to themselves.



2. Revolution Palettes: Revolution is a brand beyond the $5 price point but, their whimisical silicone palette designs are definitely something I can see our core customers falling in love with. Kids eye palettes are new for us so I minimized risk by doing them in trendy foodie prints!




3. Three Section Cosmetic Organizer: This is kicking butt already! Look how much it can hold? Sure, we market it as for makeup but really, you can fit almost anything in this bad boy.






4. Angel Wing Lashes: Fake eyelashes are in it for the long haul in terms of Gen Z beauty needs. The latest trend are these wing pairs! The inner corner is shorter and the outer jets out like butterfly or angel wings.


5. Holiday Fake Nails and Nail Wraps: Personally, I am not someone who wears makeup on the reg, but you will never see me with bare nails. I am living for this nail art moment so, I designed our entire fake nail line myself based on, what I see on tiktok, runway, mags, Pinterest, etc. We have glitter and gems, glazed donut, faux cable knit, gnomes, gingerbread, Santa hat tips, holly, and more. Nail wraps I love! They are a sticker that covers the entire nail; you just press on and cut off the excess. The holiday collection has two sizes - adult and kids. We have the largest assortment of kids sized fake nails and wraps in the game!








6. Cheese Sponge: Sponges have had a huge uptick - which means time for novelty! This set is both whimsical and functional. The sponges even have little cheese holes.


7. Eyeconic Cosmetic Set: The store is called Five Below, right? A lot of times we get criticism for having everything at $5 and not enough below $5. Therefore, I was hellbent on developing a cosmetic set to retail at under $5. This 4 pc. eye set has a liner, mascara, traditional eye shadow, and cream eyeshadow for just $3.25! Also, a lot of us aren't in our own homes for the holidays so, is the perfect little kit to put in your travel bag.


8. Clean Beauty Floral Lip Oil: Younger consumers are demanding clean, chemical-free, environmentally sound products! And I am so here for it. I expanded our few clean beauty items into a full line for holiday 2022. I got my vendors to make the below set with fresh florals using clean ingredients. You get all 6 lip oils for you guessed it - $5!


9. Nail Files: When a teen buys a nail file there are a few reasons. They lost theirs, its an add on for a gift, they want a new one to keep one in their bag and one at home, etc. But they always want it to be cute! Like being in the liquor store, people of all ages are attratced to labels and frankly, our old nail file collection looked old. It wasn't cool. Looked like it was for old people. So I redesigned all of them with nods to Y2K and send them to my middle school sis for approval. We are carrying both seasonal holiday files and everyday!





10. Nail Tape: This buy is not in all stores because it is totally ahead of the curve. So many times I wanted to write about nail tape on this blog but I was waiting until the stores had it out. Nail tape is the easiest way to do intricate nail art designs at home and has two main useages. 1. Use the adhesive tape to create designs like stripes, lettering, or French after your nail polish has dried. OR... 2. Put strips of the adhesive tape on like painters tape before you paint your nails to leave negative space in your designs. This is a below $5 item and will likely last you the entire year.



I could go on forever. I have close to 1,000 active skus that I manage so here is just a small taste! If anyone ever wants to help me be a product tester, you know where to find me.


65 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All

2 Comments


Frieda Holland
Frieda Holland
Nov 18, 2022

You are excelling with a few of your many talents. Well done! Congratulations!!!

Like

kschnelly
Nov 14, 2022

So cool I know you’ve done a lot of work this year!! Proud of you kiddo 😍

Like
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page