top of page
  • Writer's pictureWhitney Wisdom

Whitney Wisdom Season 1 Finale


I wore this look to work a week prior. When I first put it on I thought, "I need a platform to share outfits like this."

I like to think “I’m not like most bloggers.” I don’t write about my daily moves or try to stealthily sell you things. Instead, I provide Wisdom. Whitney Wisdom. And over the past year, that has come to mean something specific.


At various points, many of you have asked: how do you get the photos? Where do you go and how do you do this all by yourself? And what about outfits? How do you decide what to wear? A good magician never reveals her tricks. Good thing I ain’t no magician! Also, I have included some feedback from my beloved Season One Guest Models to enhance my own reflection. Enjoy my 44th article and thank you for being here!

How I Come Up with Article Ideas: So this is the reason I believe my writing is truly unique – my ideas. They just ooze out of me! I’m not always thinking about fashion but, I do consume the max level of fashion media possible…so come to think of it maybe, I am? I draw inspo from magazines, websites, Pinterest, and street style as well as, randomly think up my own “Wouldn’t this be cool?” scenarios. I can speak with authority because of my career in buying. Not that the products I work with are trendy at all but, just being around samples, fabric swatches, and the retail world all day every day allows me to further understand the industry and its flaws and quirks.

My very first photo shoot was so hot I had to wad up my lace dress and wade in the water!

I have an ongoing list of ideas on an Excel sheet on my computer as well as a list on my phone, so wherever I am when I have an idea I can jot it down. Both lists are categorized by season with potential release dates next to the idea. Right now I am fleshing out the order of my August articles. However, like fashion, my blog is dynamic. Sometimes something more current pops up that just has to be written right away, leaving a few topics unwritten. (Is anyone else singing Natasha Bedingfield to themselves right now?)

Titles & Clothes: “Titles & Clothes” are two elements my articles are known for. As I think of article ideas and concepts I immediately try to brand a title. I am a nerd for taglines! Sometimes I’ve had the title in my phone for months and other times I’ll only have keywords until I start writing like, “Midi Skirts.” Next I think up, what do I have to show for this? Meaning is there a piece in my closet that will work for the article? 9 times out of 10 it’s a yes. If not, I occasionally borrow from friends but generally, that’s when I revert to shoppable pics from other’s sites. My audience seems to like this just as much. In addition, I do not filter or edit my photos. Sure, a few tweaks could boost the photos impressions but, I am a strong believer in not augmenting reality. Fashion is a visual industry therefore, a photo of an outfit should look like the real life version.

Here are some comments on what it is like to be styled by yours truly. In italics are my replies. If you want to check them out the article each model was featured in is linked behind their name.

“Whitney had some ideas in mind when styling the shoot, but she definitely gave us creative freedom to style items to fit our body type and aesthetic.”~Julia B., Remember Gauchos?

Style is the most personal trait, darling. Who am I to stifle that?

“I NEVER would have worn two long sleeve translucent shirts on top of each other. Gives it an unexpected subtle pop. Who knew?”~Isabel T., I Stalk Anthropologie More than You Stalk Your Ex

Layering two see-through tops is the best way to tread the exposed/coverage boundary.

Much love for my first guest models! They did every weird pose I could think of.

“The cowboy boots likely gathered the most attention. It was fun wearing a type of shoe I don't own.”~Brandon H., Couch Inspiration

No one knew Brandon's cowboy boots were 1.5 sizes too big except for him when he scaled the side of a bridge to get the shot!

“Whitney and I styled a couple of pieces in different ways in order to shop less to support the environment. It was fun bringing along the clothes I reach for again and again that always make me feel like myself.”~Haley R., Fashion Week's #1 Memo

H. Reid has the greatest clothes. "Not so basic, basics" is what I called for and man, did she deliver!

“Since you ARE my best friend I cannot skip discussing the shoes! You had on those lovely velvet slip on sandals (guessing on the material but I'm pretty sure they were? Correct.) and I was wearing black booties!”~Meghan S., Mixed Up & Amused

I don't know much about my future but, I do know I want my proposal to include a pair of shoes. Thank you for acknowledging this, love of my life.

A cute little tourist interrupted our shoot to ask if we wanted a group photo. It was easier to say yes.

Now onto the actual writing: This part you know about! What you read is pretty much my rough and my final draft. Pumping out an article a week urged me to take the journalistic approach of “get it right the first time.” I do have an editor mainly to bounce ideas off of someone, get brands recs., and to keep myself from saying something completely inappropriate – a flaw (or um, specialty) of mine.

Top Stories of Season One:

3. I Stalk Anthropologie More than You Stalk Your Ex: Spend your screen time on scoring bargains instead of following the adventures of an irrelevant person. You will save in many ways with my tactics!

2. Home is Where my Clothes Live: I never considered home décor my area of expertise but maybe I’m wrong. This article became an instant hit across a wide range of people. If you have any home ideas send them my way!

1. Don’t Call It Menswear: “I personally LOVED the article called ‘Don't Call it Menswear.’ I'm a big fan of mixing traditionally feminine and masculine pieces, so this was definitely up my alley. Also, the pictures are FANTASTIC. Women can wear whatever we want (and we usually wear it better anyway.”~Isabel T.

I'm so glad my readers share my passion for uplifting women! One of my favorites too! *GRL PWR.*

Honorable Mention:

Cultural Connection:I really enjoyed the hoop earrings/black voices in fashion article. Very cool convergence of fashion and hot-topic journalism.”~Eli R., Get Jacketed Up

My #4 read article to date and it has only been out two months. I'd love to continue educating on fashion etiquette in relation to race and culture.


Couch Inspiration: “As much as I love your fashion and beauty based articles, you have such a flair for weaving them together with cultural phenomenons. Like urging your readers to step outside of their Netflix comfort zone (which believe me, I know is hard given my repeated viewing of The Office), and watch designer documentaries.”~Meghan S.

With a sense of style, anything can be fashion. The end.

Grandma’s Jewelry Box: “Finding gorgeous vintage jewelry to mix with newer pieces is one of my favorite looks and it’s even better when they’re from someone in your family.”~Haley R.

I baked these the night before publishing this article because I had a vision. A Grandma article just needed cookies!

Season All Pieces: “My absolute fave to date! After graduating college I've been trying to narrow down my wardrobe to fit a smaller space and ‘adultify’ my shopping habits to be more functional and sustainable. Being able to understand what items in my wardrobe are the most versatile helped me decide what to throw in the recycle pile and what to give a whole new life to!”~Julia B

This is definitely in my top 3. I'm so proud of this story and I can't believe someone else hasn't thought up the concept of Season All.

Plans for Season Two: I am proud to announce Whitney Wisdom blog has been renewed for a second season! Here’s what to look forward to!

“I honestly really like learning some of the fashion history that I otherwise would know nothing about. And I would love to learn about more trends.”~Julia S.,Remember Gauchos?

Well, this is cool! When I start an article about where something came from in order to understand how to wear it now and in the future I always wonder, ‘Does anyone even care?’ Altering the past is the best way to set trends.

“I would love to see more articles that connect fashion and beauty with things you may not necessarily connect them with, like watching TV!”~Meghan S.

Unusual topics coming right up!


“I think it might be fun to interview a fashion friend of yours on their style and what their go-to pieces or styles are.”~Isabel T.

I’ll do you one better and serve up some chic small business owners where you can directly emulate their style.


We tested out some group pics on Isabel's watch and welp, it came out looking like we're on a webcam. Creepy!

“More current issues x fashion kind of articles. I think that format works very well and fits your voice.”~Eli R.

It's 'bout to get real journalistic up in here, up in here.

“Expand your demographics by taking big trends and applying them to kids/preteens or aging up our mid-twenties style to a more mature look!”~Julia B.

Great idea! We all need Wisdom!

“I love that you’re making jewelry and need to scoop a cute anklet for myself!”~Haley R.

Oh yeah! So...I became a small business owner this May. Jewelry was my gateway into the fashion world, so I decided to return to root by designing and selling my own creations. Add some hot summer pieces to your cool collection: www.etsy.com/shop/WhitneyWisdomBeading.

Who’s Next? With the number of cases decreasing since March, I am now looking to bring in more guest models! I have a whole list of nominees I will be announcing on my Instagram @whitneywisdomblog this week! Stay tuned.

The Name: Whitney Wisdom is a queen, my baby, and my favorite hobby all rolled into one. Blog’s are personal so I thought my name should be in the title. Basically I was trying to come up with a short alliteration because they get stuck in people’s heads. (W provides limited options.) I came up with the concept of Whitney’s Words of Wisdom since I wanted to package the blog as writing by a fashion authority not, the “every girl”. Original writing with a photo layout that could be in a magazine if seen by the right eyes. Whitney Wisdom has a better ring to it, it is not cliche or copyrighted, so ta-dah! Wisdom is not my actual last name. I think it's funny people assume that because it never crossed my mind.

In January I made my first Media Kit. It was only fitting to have this image on the cover. My favorite shot on the blog!

Subscription Option: Tell your friends, tell your enemies! Anyone you would normally call the fashion police on – refer them to this blog. My subscribers list is something I am focused on growing this year! By becoming a subscriber, 1. You’re awesome and 2. You will get styling tips every Sunday night right to your email. And let’s face it – we could all be better dressed in 2020! Absolutely no spam. Ever. And...it’s free! “There's nothing more I enjoy than seeing the Whitney Wisdom email sail into my inbox every week!” ~Julia B., An OG subscriber and a favorite person of mine.

How to Subscribe: On my website, scroll to the very bottom of my Home page (past the Contact section with the magazine on my face.) OR send your email to whitneywisdom0@gmail.com saying you’d like to join and I’ll hook you up.

Thank you for making Year One fabulous. You ain’t seen nothing yet!


The very first photo that got your attention. I hope you've stayed hooked every since!


130 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

1 Comment


mark1618
mark1618
Jul 27, 2020

This is an alsome photo idea,shows your model legs and shoes well

Like
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page