top of page
  • Writer's pictureWhitney Wisdom

Remember Gauchos?

Updated: Nov 3, 2019


Huh this is more legs than normally on this blog.

The year is 2005. I put my CD of The Hangover you Don’t Deserve by Bowling for Soup into the family stereo. My knowledge on hangovers is limited to how Jack Black explained it in my favorite movie of all time, School of Rock (2004). "I’m not drunk, I was drunk yesterday."


I stretch out on the couch with a bead kit and start crafting. In that era of my life I felt it was necessary to wear large pendants and dangly earrings whenever I was seen by another human, so I made most of my jewelry myself. Mind you, all the while I’m jamming to the likes of 1985, Almost, and Ohio (Come Back to Texas) and wondering if I am ever going to meet some guy named Leveland at the bank.


Gauchos Whit circa mid 2000s. I liked to match, ok? Leave me alone.

I have on what I thought was a “simple” t-shirt from Limited Too that says something like, “dance your heart out” (some things never change) in an obscene amount of glitter that sheds more than a dog. On the off chance that I didn’t want to be covered in glitter, (Who else rolled glitter gel on their face midday with their neighbors?) I’d wear a wrap tunic with a sharkbite hem and a back tie that had no purpose.


But as long as I had my gaucho capris on my legs, I felt like I could do anything! And I could! The notorious poly/cotton/spandex blend with a pull on waistband was comfortable enough to run trek while the wide leg made black gauchos formal enough for Easter Sunday. My jeans were happy to have a break in 2005. 14 years later denim is beyond everywhere and that is exactly why I don’t want to wear it (well, that’s a lie, just not everyday!)


Gauchos were born in the 1950s as the women’s trouser because they allowed legs to breathe yet, were flowy enough to look like a feminine skirt. Gauchos are often referred to these days as culottes because millennials (hi) can only associate the term gauchos with their butterfly-clip-wearing youth. Culottes are essentially pirate pants (not Hammer Pants, dad!) that are cropped between the knee and the calf. I opt for a calf length to carry my gauchos into more seasons.


I take advantage of gaucho’s shapelessness by pairing them with any kind of funky heel or wedge. This ensures that for once, the lower half of your bottom is the star of your outfit. For fall into early winter this means either ankle boots+tights (I like my tights black & printed) or a leg clinging over-the-knee boot. My vote goes to leg clinging boots, since gauchos are the widest pants on the market. Wearing a ruched, bulky, mid calf boot would add baggage only Captain Jack could pull off...or Captain Morgan, whoever you prefer.


Julia Bosso. Follow her blog on travel, beauty, and all else @goleftblogs!

But what goes on top? Literally everything you are already wearing with jeans and work pants; gauchos can handle a crewneck tee and a collar. Because I’m nostalgic like that, I bring back tidbits from the days where gauchos were my religion by pairing them with a printed top in my favorite color, pink. A pink top + navy gauchos with button detailing=female sailor of the year. (Betcha didn’t know that was a look you should go for!) Notice 2019 emphasizes more of the length and shape. This is made possible by the fabric being blended with a stiffer linen.


Julia Snavley. Two Julia's are better than one!

A chiffon mix gaucho makes for excellent weekend wear because it is just as comfy as athleisure but twice as chic! My tan floral gauchos are one of my most complimented pieces and they match everything!


Nice gauchos! Thanks but it's actually a jumpsuit with a sweater over it. Got eem!



Still not convinced? I’ve got a styling hack for you! Throw a knit top or sweater over a jumpsuit you already own to create “faux gauchos.” By doing this you save money too! Different tops with different hem lengths create different silhouettes. Having part of the jumpsuit’s bodice stick out is encouraged by old college crop tops, v-necks, or any top with a cut out.


Peace, love, & wide pants.


You can't sit with us unless you're wearing gauchos. (Actually there's just no more room on the chair.)
111 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

1 Comment


mark1618
mark1618
Jul 27, 2020

Whitney reading the wisdom you share about putting together an outfit for all occasions, is like finding a great receipe with pictures. You have great friends modelling with you on occasion, and the gentlemen are very handsome, and look great in everything you ask them to wear. Please continue, to share your great wisdom with us all! Your use of great backgrounds always takes us on an adventure, thank you for a fun year!!

Like
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page