top of page
  • Writer's pictureWhitney Wisdom

Home is Where my Clothes Live


Bright lights & the big city.

I’m not gonna lie. One of the coolest things about me is my apartment. Today the door is propped open so you can see what happens when I take a stab at creating an industrial chic ambiance. Hint: there’s more to a modern apartment than a shoe rack (though it is definitely worth the investment.) Here are other unique finds in la casa de Whitney. Apply the same style principles to your home as you do to your fashion and you’ll be livin’ in your personal paradise.


Coaster tray: As you may have noticed I do not have a table of any sort in my apt., so naturally a lot of meals are eaten on my couch. I am not really sure how I got the idea of making a TV tray of coasters but, as someone who is nostalgic to the max, I started collecting coasters that said the name of the pub on them as a memento of a fun night. Similarly, in college I kept all my wristbands from every bar trip and wrote a message on the inside about the night and then chained then up. Something funny (to say the least) to look back on.


Bring the brewery craze into your home with this customizable craft!

A Bud Light coaster is meaningless trash but, the sick logo of Broken Chair Brewery right in the middle is a money move. To its right is the Seacrets Distilling coaster I got when I had three samples (straight shots of rum and vodka) on an empty 11am summer stomach. The bottom left hand corner is to commemorate a VSSPD (very special St. Patty’s Day) with my college roommates swiped from a bar that is now closed...hope they didn’t lose too much dough from a coaster shortage. And right above it (Hi, Lil’ Wayne.) is the only brewery on the tray I haven’t visited - the coaster was donated by my ten-year-old sister. All the logos are loud and wordy which is fitting because that’s exactly how I get when I drink.


Go to all these bars one weekend and consider it the official Whitney Wisdom Bar Crawl!

Making the tray was actually pretty relaxing. Simply paint modge podge onto the back of each coaster and again on the entire surface to make a seal. Use at least 3 coats on top to create a sealed surface. I researched the best brush for the job, and luckily it was a foam tipped brush that are sold by the dozen for $2 at every craft store. I used regular scissors to cut coasters to get them to fit like a puzzle on my wooden serving tray. How many of these bars have you been to? Go to them all one weekend and consider it the official Whitney Wisdom Bar Crawl!


Penn Station Mail Station: So I actually live at the post office! Kidding! Though most bills are digital now, a mail station right by the front door can still serve you well. My VIP papers and stamps like to band together, otherwise they get lost. My stepdad made this mail station with an image of my favorite way to get into NYC, Pennsylvania Station. Also known as Penn Station to those born after this image was shot in 1905. Also, as far as I’m concerned if my keys aren’t at the front door, they’re just gone.


Signed, sealed, delivered, and out the door!

Factory-style Floors: From literally the year 1900. There's very little textile manufacturing in the United States unless it's niche. Using the same wooden bricks for contemporary housing that supported factory floors is an excellent way to preserve the heritage of the fashion industry. The dark cold floors are lightened by ivory walls and windows so tall, Jordan couldn’t even dunk on them.


You see an empty space, I see a dance floor!

Skyscraper Dressers (that double as a nightstand): If I told you the story of how I bought this four piece dresser set, you probably wouldn’t believe me. But here goes the short version: I bought these drawers off Facebook Marketplace from a man named Brick. Brick’s hobbies include paintballing and collecting Disney antiques which he pairs with little voices when he shows them off. I will never forget him. Easily the most unique salesmen I have ever encountered and I’ve worked in retail since I was 18.


This comforter is by the Opal House by Target and I'm obsessed with everything on their line!

As you can see, my bedroom is small but the ceilings are not. I knew I had to think dorm-style and stack my foldables upwards, so these towers were the perfect solution! Only three fit in the room so I have one in my bathroom acting as the medicine cabinet of my dreams.

Here it goes! Towels on top, meds, toiletries, and jewels in the body. Hair supplies in the top drawer, a gift wrap station on the ground floor and sandwiched between, and my personal favorite part, a full bracelet drawer! To get some organization tips for your precious accessories read I Have a Necklace for That! And Earrings too! Here.


Juicer: What is life without fresh pressed juice? A sad sugar free existence. I honestly like concocting cocktails more than I like drinking them (I am the same way with s’mores. So don’t invite me to your bonfire unless you want me pushing at least three burnt marshmallows on ya.)


Insert crush here...

The unofficial drink of my happy place, the beach (not to be confused with the shore), is an orange crush. And since there are no fashion jobs by the water, I crush my own oranges and drink ‘em on my roof by the pool. All you need is orange vodka, orange triple sec, club soda, and fresh squeezed oranges!


...And here.

Learning how to create your own atmosphere is an important life skill…that always starts with a cocktail.

124 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

1 Comment


kschnelly
Nov 25, 2019

Your place is great!!! No kitchen pic😥 your kitchen is amazing

Like
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page