top of page
  • Writer's pictureWhitney Wisdom

What to wear to the Amalfi Coast, a European Wedding, and Downtown Berlin


The lesser famous kissing spot on the Berlin wall.

Europe Girl Summer has turned into Europe Girl Fall and it is my greatest honor to review my adventure and to help with your packing lists! The details of visiting other countries can be weird but luckily, for you, you have your faithful fashionista to help you navigate the dos and don’ts of dressing for the Amalfi Coast, downtown Berlin, and even a European wedding!


Day 1: Amalfi Coast: Boat Ride to the Island of Capri

It is a well-known fact that Americans dress among the most casual in the world. So the best rule of thumb is to slightly overdress to what you’d typically rock for a similar activity on US soil. That rule of thumb gets kicked up a notch when escaping to a boujee island such as Capri. On a boat ride from Sorrento to the island of Capri you pass countless yachts owned by big wigs in various industries such as Tommy Hilfiger and Jeff Bezos. Needless to say, I knew my giant 2015 sorority tank would simply not do as a bathing suit coverup. I went with a scenic sundress with a tie back that perfectly matched up with the shape of my bathing suit. I topped off the look with a white bucket hat to shade my face. Wide brim hats were very popular on the island. The whole atmosphere was coastal cool but with Fifth Avenue-style shopping!

Seeing the iconic location of Dior's photoshoots is extra cool when you're a Fragrance Buyer.

Advanced level: matching your dress to the scenery.ry.

Day 2: Amalfi Coast: Sorrento Farm Tour and Tasting

You are what you eat was the title of an article I edited for my college’s fashion magazine in 2016 when foodie printed clothing first came into the limelight. Everytime I glanced down at my seafood dress this is exactly what I thought of! Fully equipped with a classic Tuscan tablecloth print in the background, I wore this dress to a farm to table luncheon in the gorgeous Sorrentian countryside. When getting served, I was hoping my choice in dress would help me get an extra helping. You know, like at Hibachi?

Spaghetti straps for Italy are a MUST!

In reality, a spaghetti (Perfect for Italy!) strap dress that is form fitting at the top and shapely, but with a little give in the belly and thighs is ideal to take from day to night. After an afternoon of swimming and watching cliff jumpers I changed back into my seafood dress ready to inhale some fish and feel like an icon.

If you saw someone in a seafood dress, it was me!

Day 2: Amalfi Coast: Swimming at Bagni Regina Giovanna

I have so many bikinis in rotation but I was really glad I chose this one for swimming in Sorrento! On the coast fringe knit mini tops and maxi dresses were on display everywhere. Also, red is not a color that is super popular to wear in the States but, on the Mediterranean Tomato Girl Aesthetic is all the rage. Think reds, neutral tans, lace, crochet, and gold jewelry. This is by far my favorite tiktok trend to date!

Truly the best day!

Day 3: Amalfi Coast: Pompeii and Mt. Vesuvius

Euro girl activewear is on the verge of nonexistent. No running shorts, no classic workout tees. So to hike Mount Vesuvius, an active volcano near the town of Pompeii, I wore an active dress equipped with deep pockets and armpit ventilation. Instead of a purse, that strap around my chest is my water bottle holder which I highly recommend picking up at your local Five Below for hands-free hot girl hikes.

Pompeii Day.

Day 3: Amalfi Coast: Rainy Dinner: I don’t mind spendin’ everyday day…out on the corner eating paninis in the pourin’ rain. But seriously how does one pivot their look for an unexpected downpour?! Rain was not in the forecast until after I had boarded the plane and packed my luggage, of course. In this pic I am not recommending wearing a college windbreaker on a trip ever, but I do recommend packing one just incase. They fold up so easily in your bag! It has to be raining so hard for me to whip this out and it turned out to be a good call as I quickly discovered most people who visit Sorrento new UD and were even from Delaware or New Jersey.


This outfit actually made me the most friends.

I tried to be my cutest despite the conditions with a midi dress that doesn’t touch the ground, waterproof footwear, and fun statement earrings that make my frizzy storm hair tamer. Also a moment for these pale pink, gold glitz, dashing diva nail wraps please?


Day 4: Belgrade: Pre-Wedding Night Out

Meeting up with about 20 friends in Belgrade, Serbia the eve before a wedding calls for a celebration! For our mini bar crawl on the river, I rocked white textured leather pants with an ocean colored tank. This top is not super fitted and flowed nicely in the breeze. In Europe men need pants for a night out not shorts, but as a woman I also find pants most comfy since all the bars are open air and can get chilly at night.


Baby, let the games begin!

Day 5: Belgrade: Wedding

This was my first time attending a destination wedding and likely my first and last time in the beautiful country of Serbia! Serbians party hard; the wedding was scheduled for 8 hours. Analyzing this look from head to toe - I started with a comfortable curled hairstyle with loads of hairspray so as to not come unglued. I clipped in a pink marbled barrett for added color in my dark mop. Knowing how long the reception was, I assumed correctly that there would be many hours spent on the dancefloor. I picked a dress with twirl ability! (AKA a full skirt!) I took advantage of Europe’s classiness by picking a dress longer than I normally would. If you go to a wedding in Europe and the invitation says cocktail I recommend at least tea length. As for my shoes, I picked a pair of heels that perfectly filled in my ankles - the only portion of my legs showing. I went with an edgy and strappy snakeskin shoe to contrast the glitzy femininity of my shiny mint green dress.


Mint green will be THE wedding of color of Spring 2024! You heard it here first.

This was my first time wearing a gown in this color and I have to alert you now, shiny mint is going to be the color for summer 2024 weddings! It's more unique than sky blue and “it's a girl pink” but just as wearable.


The whole thing was very elegant. To get drinks we were not permitted to go to the bar - the waiters really wanted to serve us everything. Each guest also received a small corsage and a cocktail upon entrance.


Dancefloor is a universal language.

Day 6: Belgrade: Post-Wedding Brunch and Kalemegdan Castle

As much as wedding day was all about the fashions, the next day was all about the food! Aside from my annual all-you-can eat crab feast, I can easily say the 9 course Mediterranean extravaganza was the best meal I’ve ever had! Like, ever. From minty beet sticks with yogurt dip, to a hot pot of stewed tomatoes and gooey feta, this post-wedding brunch put all American hotel eggs-n-bacon-style buffets to shame! The servers made fun of how much water we ordered and how little beers. This meal took 4 hours, so I was glad I took advantage of a more casual day and wore a pair of butterfly and floral printed white denim shorts and a ruffled balletcore tank.

Minty beet sticks with yogurt dip.

A clay pot of stewed tomatoes and gooey feta.

Brown sauce coated beef over mashers.

Day 7: Travel to Berlin: Late Night Dinner

Out of all three of these places, Berlin was the most like the cities of New York and Philadelphia that I am used to frequenting. They’re more progressive in the way they dress. Meaning, just about anything goes! This day was a travel day, but when we landed for dinner I was excited to change into the Barbiecore corset-inspired top I had bought just that morning in Belgrade’s shopping district. I paired it with white leather pants and long gem earrings.


A late night Indian feast in Berlin because it was all that was open!

Day 8: Berlin: Reichstag, River Cruise, the Berlin Wall

On this day we fit like 3 different days worth of events into one day proving my theory that I have the best travel partner in the world. When going to Germany’s Parliament building, the Reichstag we passed through the Special Olympics cycling event. Then we hit a river cruise, both sides of the Berlin Wall, shopping, a brewery all before dinner! I wore a 70s inspired shoulder tie tank top and Aztec-printed tiered skirt. A neutral white top made all the German beers pop in my photos.


Just a German doing the most German thing!

Day 9: Berlin: Pergamon Museum and Maggie Rogers Concert

The seafood dress was too good to not wear again. Plus it had already been a full week since I wore it last! It was a rainy day - perfect for museum going! I rocked this look for the daytime and then changed into a more edgy look for that night’s Maggie Rogers concert. Starting with the bling, I wore my favorite spikey lightning bolt necklace from Rome and a snakeskin red leather skirt that teens, old ladies, and everyone in between always drools over! If you are interested in checking out more concert outfit ideas see this article.


You're only as strong as your poses in muesums.

Maggie Rogers, one of my favorite artists, just happened to be playing in Berlin while we were there. I had seen Maggie about 6 months prior in NYC so had direct comparison on what her show was like in the states v. Berlin. The crowd all spoke English which was so comforting. With the Berlin show being floor only, we got there early and everyone was sitting down in their little spots to reserve their areas. Beer was served in a cup you had to return at the end of the show and wait for it, it was only 4 euros. “Venue pricing” does not exist!!


Day 10: Berlin: Mall Trip and Travel Home

Nothing says mall trip like a fun shoulder bag and fashion tee! And I can confirm this is a universal language. I made it out of the food court with some fancy cheese fries that I successfully kept from staining my white shirt! That, and minimal flight delays (0 cancellations! Woot, woot!) were the true miracles of the trip! Until next time…


Mall girl energy.

45 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

1 Comment


kschnelly
Oct 02, 2023

Doesn’t seem real that you’ve visited all these places!

Like
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page