top of page
  • Writer's pictureWhitney Wisdom

The Outcast of Jewelry


*All photos are taken from online retail sites and the non-Whitney Wisdom Beading photos were not shot by me. Each image is hyperlinked so click away and happy shopping!*


Every season there are trendy earrings, inventive necklaces. Tons of new jewel combos to adorn your upper half. I can’t even count how many dresses are in my closet. Tops? Well just forget about it! Hats and sunglasses fill my face for practically all weather and I am always down to experiment with a new hair piece. All of these sentiments contribute to fashion’s obsession with top oriented pieces. Items from the waist up are the most talked about while, accessories from the shoulders up are true alpha dogs.


Not that I want to talk smack on a timeless short chain necklace, I just want to point out you do in fact have options. Slide that choker past your heel, now it's an anklet and your look is five times more original. Today we tackle the best of the foot jewelry fam: anklets, toe rings, and chains.



The Inspo: Once upon a time in a land called 2005, you probably had a whole slew of these. Then you realize the colors fade, chains rust and kink, and strings tatter and fall off. A lot of us continued to wear anklets over the past 15 years but only in summer. Ankle bracelets have actually come to be a symbol of summer, synonymous with waves and sunscreen. The Holy Grail of salt, surf, and sand. Colorful and carefree. While summer is, yes, the perfect time to start an ankle stack (I mean hello, they never get in the way?) so is fall, and winter, and spring! This concept likely emerged as an every girl’s way to duplicate the chain wrapped high heels released by Jimmy Choo. Choo’s Shiloh high heeled, crystal anklet sandles look just as good in evening black as they do in shiny silver. Chains and ribbons around the ankle kick a standard buckle to the side.



One of the hottest trends I’ve discovered when passively scrolling the internet this summer is a three part recipe: anklet+socks+sneakers. As a lover of shimmery neutrals I am drawn to the idea of a basic white sneaker with a gold rope chain anklet. By adding ankle jewelry you can make a lowtop look like a hightop and ultimately dress-up a more plain shoe. Also, I am addicted to my pink Adidas Gazelles, so much so, they are the only pair of shoes I have ever bought a direct duplicate of. A fun pastel colored sneaker or mule look great topped with a few braided cord anklets for extra seasoning.



Wearing the same anklets everyday? Honestly, I’m into it. Let their versatility shine on your body. Anklets chameleon to every outfit you put together. It’s so fun!


The Shop: Some of you may know about the new business endeavour I started this May. Originally, WhitneyWisdomBeading on Etsy started out as a shopping space for homemade beaded bracelets that are both adjustable and stylish. But then I realized, the growing market need for ankle bracelets, as they transition into year-round jewelry.


I tried to make the ordering process simple but super fun and personal so customers could get that ma & pa boutique feel that COVID-19 has almost completely crushed. Shoppers can select three cord colors plus beads and shells to make their own everyday anklet. I continue to collect shells along the Atlantic in hopes that everything in my shop can soon be completely local. I only use the word cord not string or yarn to convey the quality of materials I insist on using as a creator. All cord used by WhitneyWisdomBeading is a waxed polyester. The waxed part makes it waterproof, a main issue I have had with friendship bracelets of summers past. And the poly=durability. You shouldn’t be afraid to fully extend your anklet to get it over your heel. Shoes made for feet, are made more sturdy than say, gloves made for hands. Therefore anklets and toe rings should be more weather proof than bracelets and rings. Personal philosophy.


Styling Tips:

  1. The Look: Everyone’s style is different but I always start by layering up the one ankle and then adding to the other. That’s how the surfer’s wear them. A bunch of thin braids stacked together. I like each foot to have inspiration from different sources.

  2. The Colors: I like faded olives, tans, and browns on one foot and more pungent pastels like, yellow, sky blue, and mint on the other.

  3. The Theory: Right now I am wearing low socks only because it is so. stinkin’. hot. But come September, I’ll opt for a white ankle sock and pull my anklets outside the sock. That way they are displayed on a perfectly blank background, like art!

  4. The Eyeballs: The easiest way to draw attention to your new ankle wear? Wear leg exposing bottoms! Think midi skirt, cutoffs, and of course bikinis. Keep your anklet more of a mystery by pairing with acid washed mom jeans that are just short enough to expose the little guy.


I am totally loving dusting off my business school skills by creating my very own product assortment and testing what works. I’d love for you to check out my shop and if you like what you see please rate at 5 stars. I create a story behind each piece because, at its rawest form, jewelry is personal. The vision for the item and the style are explained in the copy of each listing which, if you like this blog you will love my Etsy page because you get a physical takeaway! Warning: stock is limited since I am just starting out so don’t delay in purchasing and please help me spread the word! It would be beyond if I could give those laid off due to COVID-19 a job someday. That’s the New American Dream.



103 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

1 Comment


Diana Patterson
Diana Patterson
Jan 26, 2023

Nice article! I really like this article and found this article very helpful for me. Thanks for sharing. https://hancockssignetrings.com/cufflinks

Like
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page