top of page
  • Writer's pictureWhitney Wisdom

Getting The Band Back Together

Updated: Nov 3, 2019



As temperatures go up, so does my hair. Every.Single.Summer. A lot of times my scalp takes shelter under a baseball cap but, for occasions where I simply can’t ball up my long locks and stow them away (i.e. every Mon.-Fri. when I am in office, i.e. the 90% of the time I don’t want to look like a slob), I have decided to bring back the full cloth, back-elastic, hair-wrap style headband. And I’m not the only one. Peep Christian Dior’s resort wear 2020 collection.


The key to wearing a headband meanwhile, still looking like an adult can be summed up in one word: thickness. Laid out flat, the cloth of the top of the headband should span at least 2 inches. If you are nervous about pulling back too much hair in fear of a fivehead or are simply new to hair pieces, opt for about a 1-1.5 inch cloth and let your baby hairs hang in the front. On all my favorite bands the left and right side kiss in the middle forming a twist and thus, a turban-like shape. Turbans did have a moment in 2014. A “moment” was not enough for this North African style hair wrap. This time around, the colors punch back, the prints are ultra femme, and the fabric is more luxe, leaving the wearer somehow more carefree...


This blocked tie dyed headband is the OG. Pretty sure it is from the Times Sq. Forever 21 which is just comical to me because it has been my most worn hair accessory for five years running. I wear it with my rusted bronze color bikini to soothe the suit’s metallics into a more boho babe vibe.




If my hair is crying for help while I’m running errands in gym clothes, or just having a face mask to myself, I slide this breathable chiffon to the tiptop of my head and, even in my college sweatpants, somehow I feel instantly stylish. The bright purples, deep teals, and muted lime hues in this wrap are the perfect dose of color for someone who mainly wears neutrals.If I were to rebuy this specific headband in 2019, I would keep the colors the same but go for a more mod take on color blocking. For instance the left side of the cloth purple and the right lime green.


Chanel taught us there is nothing more ladylike than a classic stripe + golden chains. Well, except for maybe pearls! The nature of a headband draws attention to the face which is the perfect excuse (not that you need one!) for powerful earrings. I like the way this Chanel (I wish!) Cotton On headband plays off of white tassel seed bead earrings; an updated and more affordable pearl. I pull my hair into an easy low chignon to show off my accessories. Often times I wear this headband on bad hair days when I still want to look polished. And honestly that tactic never fails me.




As someone with dark hair, I generally steer clear of black or off black scrunchies, barrettes, and the like, because they won’t show up in my hair. In a shiny lurex fabric, headbands of every color can be seen in any nest of hair! (Thank you, glitter!) This headband was actually a gift. I mainly wear it in the winter time when I want to feel extra glitzy and a tad exotic (a great NYE piece).


Since this headband is my thickest by far, I wear it more like a turban wrap - instead of having the elastic buried under my head, I have it stretched above my neck for all to see. I tend to dress this lurex piece up with a tailored LBD, pointed toe slingback heels, and whimsical silver and navy jewelry.


A wrap headband works for all occasions, is comfortable, and accommodates all hair types.



95 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page