top of page
  • Writer's pictureWhitney Wisdom

Fave Fashion Trends from Every Year I was Alive Part II: 2010-2023

Most teenagers are trying to find themselves. I’ve been lucky enough to always know who I am so the 2010s were about expressing myself through clothing according to modern trends, yes, but most importantly, learning how to dress my way. The 2020s have so far been about reclaiming my style and testing its strength as life will never be the same.


*This is a 2 part article series. Check out my favorite pieces from 1995-2009 here.


2010: Skinny Jeans/Printed Shorts

In 2010 tight was right. This meant skinny jeans year round and short shorts in the summer. I opted for pattern pairs that felt more fun!


Fashions speak louder than words.

2011: Ballet Flats + Bodycon Skirts

Ultra tight transitioned into night time in the form of bodycon skirts and dresses that showed your shape. Ballet flats were honestly a whole movement. Before this time dresses were pretty much always worn with heels. In 2011 women and girls started demanding more comfortable options.


2012: Sweetheart Strapless Dresses

Something about wearing a strapless dress just felt so adult! A no-strapped look that revealed either tan lines or a Jersey Shore-inspired fake-n-bake tan was the only way to do homecoming - regardless of your bust size.


Strapless was an A-list style.

2013: Pre-wrap Headbands

Pre-wrap was the secret ingredient in achieving that runner core aesthetic. My pre-wrap always matched my outfit to the point where my teammates and I would trade them. If you aren’t familiar, pre-wrap is athletic tape that when measured around your thigh, ripped and knotted to form a circle, made a great disposable headbang. Good for the environment, no, but how else was I supposed to tell you I was an athlete without telling you I was an athlete?


Before athleisure hit mass markets we had prewrap.

2014: Gold Everything

It was at this point in my life where I discovered gold is actually the best color for me and not pink. I loved (and continue to love) dressing in a monochromatic nude shimmer that matches little heels and all my jewelry just so. This is a pivotal moment in my self discovery. The thing about developing a strong personal style is, aside from the fact that I am literally just outside my high school gym, this photo could have been taken yesterday. Instead it was a decade ago.


Dressing like the awards I earned. Golden.

2015: Crop Tops

When you live in a dorm with no AC, shorter shirts just make sense. My roommates just cut their t-shirts in half. I was in search of something with a proper hemline and a tad more class to wear to frat basements lol. Since 2015, crop tops have transformed from the more sexy t-shirt option to really the only one. They’ve totally taken over and show no signs of stopping.


This was a two-tiered cropped tank that I was absolutely obsessed with.

2016: High Rise Jeans

I grew up on low rise flare jeans just like I did Full House and Kid Cuisine. Even with that being said, my appreciation for high rise skinny jeans (the complete opposite of low rise flare jeans) was at an all time high in 2016. High rise tucks and smooths in all the right places and doesn’t cut into my stomach like my low rise jeans did. Also, not like I need to spell it out for you but, high rise jeans, shorts, and skirts go hand in hand with crop tops.


2017: Over-the-Knee Boots

2017 was all about letting go and having fun. Over-the-knee boots embody that mantra in shoe form. Most of my ADPi sisters had a slightly heeled black suede version that tied behind the knee. It’s as if Santa mass produced because everyone came back from winter session with them. I always have to be a little different so mine had a blue/purple/silver chunky glitter, disco-style heel that Mr. Elton John would have killed for. They are the perfect NYE shoe.


Did I mention how great the leather skirt and over-the-knee boots are together? Iconic!

2018: Studded Leather Mini Skirt

It has gotten to the point on nights when I don’t know what to wear, my friends recommend this specific skirt. It’s flawless in a timeless way. A studded leather mini skirt brings the don’t mess with me vibe to even a teacher’s pet style sweater vest and collared shirt. I recommend buying from a more reliable store v. thrifting because cheap leather can quickly flake. You’ll want this skirt in your closer for the long hall.


2019: Sundresses

So now and pretty much forevermore I’m a working gal and I find myself reaching for dresses over jeans more and more. The easy part about dresses are they are one piece. The best part is they are perceived as fancy and yet, like I said, take minimal effort. I wear springtime sundresses year-round since I work inside. For fall and winter wear with tall boots and layer a long sleeve under the dress for a jumper-style transformation.


2019 was the year I started this blog when I realized my 1900s loft made the perfect backdrop for a backless dress.

2020: Chunky Knit Sweaters

In the year of going nowhere I truly kept it cozy. A big fuzzy sweater, leggings, and fuzzy socks became my around the house uniform. Sweaters can be warmer than sweatshirts but, they more importantly make me feel more stylish and not like a slob. I continue to reach for them.


In 2020 sweater szn truly never ended.

2021: Sweater Tanks

I’m addicted and I just can’t get enough. I wrote a full saga on my devotion to sweater tanks titled “Unexpected Essentials” that you can check out here. The long and the short of it are sweater tanks we can wear for any season and are simultaneously sexy and sweet.


Part sweater, part tank the sweater vest is a great layering or solo piece for year-round.

2022: Fashion Coats

Coats not as the afterthought but as the star of the look. That is a concept I went after while planning my outfits in 2022. This is largely influenced by the fact that I started renting my clothes and renting coats specifically seemed like the best value. Ornate prints and bright suedes were things I continued to say yes to.


Ugh! This coat is what fashion is all about!

2023: Shoes with a High Walkability Score

Obviously, this is more of a prediction as we are less than a month into 2023, but I think this year will be all about sneakers. The amount I bought/received in December 2022 to gear up for the hard launch in 2023 is uncanny. The bottomline is I’m going to go places and explore things and I am going to be comfortable and stylish when I do it. I’m no longer choosing one or the other.


I know the whole nature v. nurture debate will never be put to rest but, I think there is no arguing: fashion has always been a part of my nature.


48 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

1 Kommentar


Amanda Reid
Amanda Reid
01. Feb. 2023

Great Blog! I love this post and found it very amazing. Thanks a lot for sharing.

https://www.tshirtideal.ca/

Gefällt mir
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page