top of page
  • Writer's pictureWhitney Wisdom

Fave Fashion Trends from Every Year I was Alive Part I: 1995-2009


Butterfly clips, denim set, glittery belt, and obvi Mary Janes. Young Whit was a stylish Whit.

The 1990s and early 2000s are more popular today, January 2023 than they were when I was born, December 1995. So let’s get in the time machine and take a trip to reminisce about all the clothes that no longer fit me - for better or for worse.


1995: Santa Suit

This is what happens when you are a newborn in December. All you wear are versions of velvet Santa Suits and ruffled socks. I often joke that 1995 was the best year of my life because I was only in it for two weeks!


Before I dressed myself.

1996: Laura Ashley Printed Jumpsuits

I prefer to call them *jumpsuits not onesies,* hmmkay? The gaudier the floral print the better because I was just going to throw up milk on it. This was a more boring year for my closet since I was too young to create fire ‘fits.


Waiting for my best friends to be born.

1997: Scrunchies

At the time I called them “hair things” and I had different ones for each day. I rocked scrunchies with my favorite characters on them. (The Barbie one made it into a college mixer costume.) Decorative bobby pins, homemade bow barrettes, and every size clip Capelli and Scunici manufactured. One of my faves was a scrunchie made of spiky pink hair with purple streaks.


All the hair things all the time.

1998: Fuzzy Hat + Coat Combo

In 2020 when we talked about the re-emergence of sets this is where my head went. I mean how adorable?


Snuggly sets for dayzzz.

1999: Skechers

I got at least one new pair of shoes a year - usually in August right before school started. I always picked Skechers which have really Benjamin Buttoned in both comfort and style if you ask me. The ones I got in the new Millennium were always platform and had a little glitter striping in either purple or pink. I started off with white sneaks like every young sneakerhead and then graduated to more outlandish prints like denim Skechers.


Peep the top trekker shoelace charms. IYKYK.

2000: Metallic Puffer Coat

Now *this* is a staple! When people think of their childhood they think of their swing set in the backyard, maybe some family trips, birthday parties, I think of this phenomenal pink puffer jacket by The Children’s Place. Not only is it stylish af, it was also waterproof and great for playing in the snow. Motion to make more coats for adults waterproof not water resistant! It zipped to the chin to keep me warm and really, the only thing it didn’t have was a hood which was great, because who wants hood hair? Most certainly not, little me! I wore this coat so much that eventually there was a hole in the pocket that went through the lining and a few crayons got stuck and I wore it anyway.


Pink puffer, white denim, and white platform Sketchers is a look that always plays!

2001: Fruit Printed Swimwear

I’ve always gotten really attached to my bathing suits. They are a reminder of the best part of the year! This yellow cherry-printed halter top tankini was my first crush. First it is a simple introduction to print mixing - with the complimentary red and white plaid piping. Print mixing is a fashion challenge that has always intrigued me since the mainstream looks of youth were very matchy-matchy. I also like that this suit was mid if you will. I usually wore a regular bikini or a one piece and tankinis were the perfect hybrid for me who wanted to be trendy but also wanted to thrash around like a manatee in the pool! With its pretty much full length, I felt like a baddie wearing this as a cropped halter shirt with cutoffs and my go to pink shades and sparkly belt. Because in 2001 the law was: bottoms had to be belted.


Here I am modeling Del Sol’s original white to purple sun changing nail polish that I won playing bingo on my very first cruise.

2002: Flatform Sandals

When girls started wearing these to the bars in college I was like ehh. Something about getting my favorite childhood footwear covered in bar scum and sticky with beer just seems horribly wrong. I had a black, tan, and denim (I had sooo many denim shoes as a kid. I’m kind of ridiculous haha.) Black definitely got the most use. The double straps and stylish round buckle helped me feel secure as I pounded the pavement from 2 inches above.


Perpetually shopping for new necklaces.

2003: Church Dress

What I once called a “church dress,” because it was the only place I went that was fancy enough for it, I now know is called a slip dress. It has metamorphosed into the standard bridesmaid look of the 2020s. I loved how comfortable the silky sheen was and how it accentuated my tall and slender shape, even at a young age. My fave was this lavender one with a crepe textured floral print and soft ruffled sleeves. I wore it on school picture day and certainly stood out from the sea of cardigan sets, denim, and sneakers my friends sported.


Slip dresses are made for dancing!

2004: Boardwalk Necklaces

In 2004 the shell necklace was very much alive and well. The sharktooth pendant was one particular pioneer that men outside of pop punk bands, even rocked.. I bought light tan braided anklets in Rehoboth and tied them around my neck until they fell off.


2005: Gauchos

Gauchos are the most freeing pants and I stand by that statement. My first blog article that includes guest models back in 2019 includes tips on how to style gaucho-like pants in modern times. Back in ‘05 I wore my brown gauchos with an untucked (Rebel.) glittery t-shirt that said how much “ I <3 2 dance.” For nicer occasions like hunting Easter eggs, I wore the black gauchos with a cropped black zip up jacket as a play on the Juicy Couture jumpsuit. I doubled-down on neckwear with a reversible Five Below scarf and a 70s inspired Limited Too pendant. The quintessential 2005 accessory in this look however, is tie-on headband with ribbons that trellised down my ponytail. Aside from the fact that I had a headache by lunchtime at school everyday, can we bring this back?


Really this photo is about the coat, of course!

2006: Anything but Nylons

Literally anything else. I am so uncomfortable in this photo I can’t even smile right. To this day I only wear tights or leggings - never nylons. Usually though, I just give the people what they want and go bare legs with some tall boots for warmth.


Photo evidence of me learning pain is beauty.

2007: Two Shirts + Capri Leggings + Denim Mini Skirt

As seen on Hannah Montana. Try and catch me in one shirt in 2007. It's impossible. Heard layering was cool: really went for it. We all did. The photos are too embarrassing.


2008: Thin Scarves

Scarves inside? For Spring? In 2008 we had to find cheap ways to revamp the pieces we already owned. A little scarf tied snug around the neck was the perfect addition to any solid tee and denim capri concoction. About 4 years later indoor scarves evolved into infinity scarves - a scarf that was connected on both ends and wrapped twice around the neck. Just like the infinity necklaces given to my high school classmates on Valentine’s Day, these scarves proved to also not be 4eva.


*Don’t let this smile fool you. In 2008, my favorite store Limited Too just bought by Justice and I am in mourning. The mall will never be the same.

2009: Soffe Shorts/Logo Tees

This was more of my everyday look, not necessarily my most stylish, but by 2009 I was just “so over it” that I wanted to roll up the waistband of a pair of cotton shorts to the verge of inappropriateness and walk to buy nail polish and burritos with my friends. At this point I was fully in adult sizes so for a mix of comfort and fashion, I’d take a rubber band and catch the extra fabric of my t-shirt to make a tail and then fold it up in the back. The early 2000s was about baggy everything. By 2009 I wouldn’t be caught dead in something that wasn’t tight. The t-shirt also had to say where you bought it. Aero, AE, Hollister, A&F, didn’t matter as long as it was a name brand t-shirt.


It's the Aero hoodie unzipped to reveal the Aero tee.

*This is a 2 part article series. Next week we will pick up to 2010-2022 plus a 2023 best trend prediction.


45 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

1件のコメント


kschnelly
2023年1月09日

This is such a cute idea. Love reminiscing 😜

いいね!
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page