top of page
  • Writer's pictureWhitney Wisdom

Coated

Getting dressed, while layering up, in winter tends to take more time. But it doesn’t have to. You only need one thing for a successful winter look: that’s a coat. Read on to exhibits: A, B, & C. Warmness rankings included. Fash-un girlies coated.


Meet the Coat: Printed Puffer: Say hey, to the newest coat in my closet, my printer puffer! This coat was purchased because I was sensing a void in my coat collection. I felt like I didn’t have enough waterproof coats for when we get that classic northeast snowy/rain mix that, wait for it, were actually cute! I got tired of going to someone’s house and having them hand me the wrong black puffer when I go to leave. A black puffer is functional. I’d even argue a staple! But getting a version of that same classic puffer coat in an updated pattern is 5 times the fun! 

If you are like me, and typically have your coats zipped up the only thing you really need to worry about your coat matching is your pants…and your cold weather accessories. That’s why I sought out a coat with a pattern in the browns and tan family. Everything matches jeans, we know this but, it will also go great with my other favorite pants including my pink corduroys, white leathers, and black denims. I love the detachable shearling collar to add some fanciness. If removed, the jacket becomes a more sporty-style with a quarter zip. This is also cute.

Plaid everything has a revival around the holidays each year but, in 2024 plaid will be a key pattern year-round! This fun take on what most would describe as plaid, is really a loosely knit houndstooth at the bottom and a more traditional houndstooth at the top. A core Whitney Wisdom principle has always been pieces that print mix well!

Warmness Ranking: 9/10 This coat is a lot warmer than it looks and even has fleece-lined  pockets!


Meet the Coat: Gilded Pea Coat: A lot of people know the origin store of the first military trench coat made street style by Burberry; however, I constantly wonder where the term “pea coat” came from. I thought it would be a good story, you know? Turns out the pea coat has nothing to do with the round green vegetables and was the Dutch Navy’s version of a trench coat. Pea coats are always double breasted and typically made of wool. They were first worn by women post World War II and today, they’re a beloved dressy jacket by all genders.

My favorite pea coat is ironic and that’s why I love it. At first glance it looks like the wallpaper and couches of the Victorian Era (1837-1901.) But as you look closer you see the influence of the rustic Dutch Navy. In royal purple the pastel pattern and soft quilting shine through! With the deep v, I love wearing pea coats with a turtleneck or mockneck and a long necklace to fill in that chin to chest gap. This is definitely my most complimented coat!

Warmness Ranking: 7/10 I don’t find pea coats to be that warm sadly, just hella cute! The major perk is they cover your butt and typically surpass your knees, making it a great coat to pair with any style of dress or skirt.

Meet the Coat: Pink Sherpa: To me, the real name of this coat is The Lizzie McGuire because I actually had not one but two coats like this in my 2000s queen youth. (Read: Fave Fashion Trends from Every Year I was Alive. It’s a 2 part series.) One all over pink and one brown corduroy with white fuzz. A pink sherpa is one of those pieces that is my core style and happily it is very trendy right now! 

Sadly, we judge coats like we judge people: first based on what’s on the outside then, based on what’s on the inside. I love this coat so much because it is just as fuzzy on the inside as on the outside! Think: Elle Woods collabs Patagonia and you get le pink sherpa!

Warmness Ranking: 8/10 The reason this isn’t as warm as the puffer is there is a one button closure at the bottom so it leaves a lot of room for air but also, a lot of room to interpret your personal style!


32 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page