top of page
  • Writer's pictureWhitney Wisdom

What's the Hype about Colorado?


Greeting from the West Coast!

Like a jaded Yankee, I have always thought California Girls by the Beach Boys was a bunch of malarkey. And though I still haven’t been to California to see it for myself, I did get to one of the top quarantine destinations (LOL people do not make sense!), Colorado. 115,000 officially became Denver residents in 2021 as of August 12th. From 2010 to 2020 Denver’s population grew a whopping 19.2%. This, of course, does not include visitors or extended quarantiners. Since my readership is primarily East Coasters I thought it would be fun to bring back my observations on how the other half lives and most importantly dresses. Here’s the real tea on why everyone loves Colorado.


Thanks to those daily walks in the Spring of 2020 it seems as if everyone likes hiking now. That quick neighbor lunch-break-lap just simply isn’t enough. Maybe I should go to the Rockie’s, you thought to yourself.


Photos in Colorado are about the background.

It is both warm and cold almost everyday. AKA weather that revolves around the amount of direct sunshine perfect for cold moms and sweaty dads alike.


One word: Menver. All the bros left Midtown Manhattan, let their hair flow, pitched a tent and now live in Denver. So yeah, if you are hunting down a man I would suggest this primarily Boys Club city. And if you are not, well, fair warning.


I 'd like my vacations on the rocks, please!

Fashion-wise, I was expecting to see former rugged New Englander’s who just cut ties with their L.L. Bean only closet to mix in hipster vibes that only SanFran can serve. In reality there wasn’t really a predominant look. Due to the mountains, glaciers, and lakeside adventures everyone was fitter than I was used to and was really low-key with their fashion choices. Leggings, t-shirts, hike boots or sneakers, flannel around the waist. Most notable was the wide selection of cowboy boots spotted primarily on women with sundresses or men with bootcut jeans. More on this and my first Boot Barn escapade to come!


No need to find a cowboy when you can be a cowgirl.

On the East Coast we do handheld foods and we do them in a big way - segregated by city. For pizza you go to New York, for cheesesteaks Philly, and for lobster rolls Maine so, my concern was Denver wouldn’t really have that one special thing. I.E. when I am in Maryland I exclusively eat seafood because it's what the locals do. When in Colorado, this allowed me to try all.the.things.Within about a half hour of exiting the plane, I realized green chili sauce was the food of the mountains. With varying levels of spice, the green chili sauce was most similar to a salsa verde and I ate it on everything. Breakfast burritos, ballpark franks, nachos, crackers…


People, food, and fashion are the main things I observe anywhere I go. Of course in Colorado I spent a lot of time hiking, climbing, and driving right up to where the clouds form. The best way I can describe a peak and the rock-filled tundra is Mars. You’d have to see it to believe it. Moral of the story: if you’re curious about somewhere far away, take the trip - even if it’s a hike!


I'd hike that!

79 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page