top of page
  • Writer's pictureWhitney Wisdom

Wearable Compliments


Ooh, see that girl. Watch that scene.

You know how to angle your head and at that time of day when the lighting is just right. (Real talk: if I see another photo captioned “golden hour” I think I might I will throw up.) You know which of your photos is the most liked and you take a virtually identical beach pic each trip to try to recreate said photo. And you like compliments. You actually love them…we all do. It’s not like you’re fishing for compliments in real life like you may be on the internet but, it wouldn’t hurt your self-esteem to hear a few more sincere proclamations. “I love your outfit!” “That shirt is so cool, where did you get it?” Here is the guide to dressing like you and getting applauded for it. Boss babe attitude included, obviously!


Anything But Ordinary: Before we go into my specific pieces that get legit 20+ compliments each wear, (not an exaggeration but, also, I work in fashion where people are always feeling out fabrics so maybe I have an advantage of being surrounded by people that definitely take note of outfits.) let’s talk general terms about what werks for everyone.


Beaded dragonflies were meant to soar.

The #1 universal theme for receiving a compliment is: wear something unusual. We live in a financial world; high risk, high reward. Take the right level of calculated risk by flaunting fun extras like patches, glitter, fringe, or feathers. An alluring print or pattern also catches eyes as you wait for your morning Joe. A go-to floral or dot can even be reimagined, depending on what you pair them with...why not each other? If your style is more “no frills” stay in the monochrome family and select pieces with a profound construction. Oversized garments and powerful shoulders are admirable in 2020. Dress for excitement! Dress for an escapade.


Reimagine: To earn the outfit respect of others be out there but, also, be on trend. You want to look like you know what is going on in the fashion world at all times, and either supporting those trends or coming up with counterculture ideals. Key part here: in case you forgot, trend chasing should always be original. Your own interpretation of something we’ve seen before. Where have we seen it before? The runways, the streets, on this blog…doesn’t matter as long as you make it your own. Or maybe you’ve been inspired by non-fashion forces such as movies, paintings, a location, wallpaper…anything! A killer outfit should remind you of something else. Exhibit A. my dragonfly embellished dress reminds me of enjoying croissants in a Parisian le jardin.


Ponytails don't get enough attention. I flipped mine inside out and took off my earrings for a simple drama.

Develop your signature style. In the words of the great Diane von Furstenberg, “style is something each one of us has. All we need to do is find it.” The goal here is for when people see a piece you want them to think “That’s so Whitney!” What a great compliment!


The Fashion of Feeling: Getting coaxed is a lot about knowing your body – what looks best on it and emanating that “I can take on anything” energy. And maybe in order to feel like a conqueror you need a material item for a confidence kick. I.E. when I walk down the narrow, fluorescent lit halfway at work in a red suede kitten heel or a tortoise shell pointed heel, I feel bold knowing everyone is listening to the sound of my steps. This doesn’t happen with my flat black and tan slide on sandals. Cute, but not compliment-worthy.


A pretty dress and a big smile take you far in life.

Color Schemes that Check: Esquire, Brand Strategy Insider, and copious others proves men respond the most positively to the color blue while, similarly women most often compliment their man, while he is wearing a blue shirt. This is because blue is known to be a stable and calming color; two characteristics of the perfect man. Not surprisingly, women respond to louder hues like red, pink, and orange. This makes sense because marketers use redish orange, royal blue, and black to allure impulse buyers in milliseconds. Use these color’s powers of attraction to your personal benefit.


The Ultimate Compliment: Just because you wear a red (color, check) plaid (vibrant pattern, check) skirt doesn’t mean every woman is going to fawn over it. A whole look is greater than individual pieces, said Anna Wintour, probably. I am happy to offer individual help about what goes with what for your specific circumstances. Just reach out to me!


The ruffle detailing and close color matching makes this pair inseparable. Plus, a bold lip with a pastel outfit feels now.

My favorite compliment to receive is “I love your dress,” when in reality I am wearing a top and skirt I combined myself. This affirmation I hold the highest because it signals that someone else thought my outfit pairing is so strong, that it was sewed together by the designer. Wowza!


My parents taught me manners. Sometimes to get a compliment you have to give one. Thank you for reading. I can trust you look fabulous. Stay fierce!


67 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All

2 תגובות


mark1618
mark1618
16 במרץ 2020

Great article. U are helping people to be free to explore themselves and dress according without worrying they don't measure up to another! U Have always been comfortable being Whitney! That is what so many love abt you!!

לייק

kschnelly
16 במרץ 2020

“She was the dancing queen “! Couldn’t stop thinking this the whole time I’m reading. Haha glad you weren’t postponed!

לייק
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page