top of page
  • Writer's pictureWhitney Wisdom

The Streets of Philadelphia: Installment II



The transition from Winter to Spring is one that comes with much anticipation. Spring is rarely regarded as a favorite season but is a needed stepping stone to get to beloved summer and fall. It is this time of year where people don’t know if sweaters or sandals are appropriate. (They both are!) So let’s take it to the streets to see what’s trending now that it is actually daylight some of the times.


Look #1:

Matching sets don’t have to mean loungewear! I was in love with this punchy purple tweed mini skirt + jacket combo the minute I saw it. It brought so much color to an otherwise gray, Girad Avenue. The wearer wore it simply in an effort to dress down for a night on the town with a white tee and fashion sneakers that actually look comfy! What really got me though was that perfect-shade-of-blue bag draped across the back of the skirt. Effortless, but looks like a display! The low hanging handle adds old school elegance while the crossbody chain adds city practicality. 10/10 would have stopped this girl to ask where she bought her bag and her set but she walked way too fast and I did/didn’t want to chase her down! Pic was snapped by moi at a mid street red.



Look #2:

This outfit stood out to me because like many March days, this one was cold and windy. Peep the spilled over recycling bin. The wearer however, still embraced Spring with a fun colored coat and textured tights. She also wore a beret which I will forever & always endorse. The leather bag looked hand stitched in a 70s way. If I got my hands on it I’d wear it with all things fringe and metal touches like rings on every finger or a fun belt.



Look #3:

Ever have one of those moments when someone passes you so fast around the corner you barely get the pic? Well that’s the reality of this one. It’s one of my favorites because it represents the true art of street style. What stands out in this rather utilitarian look is the lower half. Rain boots that are actually cute and dare I say, blister free? Sign me up! Frayed edge denim with the right amount of worn-in ripping is so hard to find. I want to know if she sanded her jeans herself (My dad let me do this with sandpaper and pumice stones in Y2K!) or if she literally paid someone to wear ‘em in for her. They are that perfect.



Look #4:

I’ve been preaching the gospel of mismatched shoes since I was applying to fashion internships. This was my big thesis: why wear two of the same shoes where you can experiment with two different shoes? Yeah, there’s the pracality thing of matching up the heel heights but, back in 2018 many retailers like Nordstroms and Anthropologie were actually selling “pairs” of shoes where the two shoes were the same shape but opposite colors. One white Doc + one black Doc are spotlighted in this pantless look on a typical Spring Saturday. I hung out the car door for this pic. It was very worthy inspo.



Look #5: Here’s an instance of where the actual outfit doesn’t really matter, it's how you carry yourself. I was instantly inspired how this woman made the sidewalk her catwalk with a chin held high, mask on, eyes on the prize, as she journeyed alone. It was especially great to catch someone by themselves not buried in their phone. That is actually what I noticed first. Second: I mean that top just wants to make you escape to an all inclusive resort, doesn’t it? I hope she was en route for mojitos or margs because that spicy orange ruffled number definitely deserves a treat!



Looking to get on this blog but don’t want to do a whole guest model shoot? Wear something fire and walk past me on the streets. Nothing catches my eye quite like a strong woman in a strong ‘fit.


31 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page