top of page
  • Writer's pictureWhitney Wisdom

The Fashions at an Olivia Rodrigo Concert


Pretty face, pretty boyfriend too.

After testing a combo of bubble braids, scrunchies, and butterfly clips, I knew I had to write this article right here, right now. 2002 me is thriving, 2012 me is rolling her eyes, and 2022 me is rocking out because I’m at Olivia Rodrigo’s first world tour. The music speaks for itself so let’s talk outfits. What does one wear to the Sour tour?


My Favorite Fan Outfits: While the energy on the floor was very “screw men,” there were some fashionable Y-chromes getting deja vu with the best of us. A long dangly gold star earring caught my attention as I am on the quest for the perfect party pair!


See the star?

Patchwork as a trend is fading but colorblocking is still very present. Especially, but not limited to, the denim realm. Men know it too. This particular outfit was a standout because the wearer paired it with a tie dyed purple button down that was likely a quarantine craft.


Sidewalks, we cross.

My favorite men’s look of the show has to go to the guy in the elevated kicks. Combat boots are to Olivia as pearls are to Audrey and diamonds are to Marilyn. His were the highest and most strappy, making me question if he could be a backup dancer. The rest of the outfit was kept simple: light purple pants, drawstring hoodie, and the summer shirt of 2022 - the white tank.


You're probably with that blonde girl.

As for the rest of the crowd, it looked like Urban Outfitters and honestly, Target threw up everywhere…but, in a cute way. I don’t know if Limited Too ever did fashion shows nevertheless, between the girly-girl pastel prints and the unisex silhouettes I felt like I was at one. Purple and white printed pants that were a nod to the 70s and 90s alike, (But not the 80s.) seemed to be just Olivia’s type. I loved the mother-daughter takes on this trend in Sour purple.


A biggie-smalls royal flush.

Romantic goth is how I would describe the ripped lace stockings and overshirts I saw on and off the stage. Hair in a too small clip that spikes out the center on one’s head adds to the feels.


You-will-never-have-to-hurt-the-way-you-know-that- I-do!

I was surprised by the small number of sour sticker faces. Instead most opted for butterflies drawn on in pastel eyeliner next to the outer corner of their eye, or Euphoria face gems to bring their look one step forward.


This jacket gives me deja vu to Katy Perry's Roar.

This gal definitely cannot parallel park.

My Outfit Strategy: As for my outfit, it was planned weeks in advance. ~Obviously.~ You only get to be 10 rows away from the most popular artist in America (likely) once. By the way, I flew across the country for this. (Do you think Olivia is old enough to remember YOLO??) So, the look was purposeful. There are few trends I say no to. One of them is pigtails for adults. However, if I wanted to look like Olivia I needed to add volume to my straight hair. The bubble braids were truly the end all be all because, I couldn’t risk tiny clips rocketing out of my head when the Brutal head banging began.


I hope these photos are enough for you. This shoot was rather smooshed.

My top is dual sided like Olivia portrays in one of my favorite songs: Happier. The confusion and lack of teenage confidence is not so black and white. The fiery heart in the middle screams vintage Sublime.


The studded leather skirt has been a part of my wardrobe since my days of dressing mannequins for the living. Since 2017 it has provided a source of texture and attitude in every look it is featured in.


I was the one who taught you Billy Joel.

The jacket was mainly for the line, er, mob we waited in outside the venue for many minutes. Tabloid clippings are very Reputation. If you’re comparing Sour to any Taylor Swift album I think Reputation is the one it is most inline with. This jacket is a nod to Olivia’s musical godmother.


As per usual, my accessories were what separated me from the rest of the sociopaths. A holographic, loose hanging belt was something those who didn’t live through Y2K thought was unique. Oh! And the gold combat boots...those were a no brainer.


102 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page