top of page
  • Writer's pictureWhitney Wisdom

Subtly Spring


Spring-ready!

I have to admit: this is the hardest time of year for fashion. It is so difficult to know what to wear because temperatures can swing within a 40 degree range! Most of us are ready for Spring weather yet, we can still feel the gloominess of Winter some days. It’s a weird limbo! Here are the subtle ways I transform Winter fashion into steamy Spring outfits. I have two spoilers for you. 1. It’s a balancing game. 2. Color matters.


Finesse Florals: A few days ago I wore my black and white floral knit disco pants to the office and I got so many compliments! The last person said “It's giving Spring. I’m so ready!” That’s when it dawned on me. Incorporating florals, butterflies, leaves, and other traditionally Spring-centered prints are the easiest and happiest way to allude to Spring even if it is still cold out. I have a very girly style and love romantic prints so before that coworker said something I never thought of as floral as a Spring exclusive but, regardless, floral prints have good vibes all around!


Fit check.

Lovin’ Different Lengths: While the weather is “in between seasons” a lot of us rock short sleeves and pants. My legs are rarely cold but my chest and arms do tend to catch a chill so I prefer long sleeves with shorts. When pushing the envelope and wearing shorts early in the season, it is a good call (for both style and warmth) to rock that classic country concert look of shorts and leather boots. I go with my white boots because they feel more Spring which brings me to my next point.


Play with Pastels: Color is everything and pastels evoke that Spring feeling like no other. If you’re more comfortable in full-length jeans (vs. the shorts I’m in,) opt for light wash or pale pink or green denim. Playing with layers is not just important but necessary. I keep it light and breezing by wearing a light sage and white gingham blazer to Springify by go-to graphic tee and jeans.


This time of year, flowers simply bloom out of thin air!

Additive Accessories:

I love metallized pastels especially on a bag. Think silver, rose gold, icy blue etc.


Anthropologie always understands the assignment!

White eyeliner lightly penciled on the waterline allows you to see everything more clear. Kidding! But it does help brighten and make the eyes look less tired.


Swirling my hair into a little rose bud is my go-to wedding guest look but, I’ve started to adapt it as a regular Spring style. First I add some texture to my hair. I gather the top section on both sides of my head, twist then together and then coil it like a cinnamon bun. Since I don’t use a lot of hair 2-3 bobby pins are typically enough to hold it!


A playful rose!

19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page