top of page
  • Writer's pictureWhitney Wisdom

Spa Gadgets I’ve Sworn by for the Past 15 Years


The year was 2005. It was a Friday night - which meant no homework, junk for dinner, a fresh release from Blockbuster which I would set up on the ground in my room on a portable DVD player with a screen smaller than a tablet - but that was the price of privacy. I triple checked we had cucumbers for facials because, at age 10 all I wanted was nice skin, a little R&R, and a microwavable lava cake to round out my evening. Today I’m sharing the spa gadgets that were sleepover staples of the 2000s, finals stress relievers of the 2010s, and now something I need to do in order to stay healthy and run long distances. All extremities will be covered.


Hot Hands: This part of the body is perhaps getting the most attention these days. With my new method of hand scrubbing (hard and to Lizzo) coupled with my (probably excessive) use of hand sanitizer, my hands are dry and patchy like it's the middle of winter. It's horrible being this scaly. Boost moisture levels by dipping each hand in for two coats of hot and fully melted paraffin wax. (About 125 degrees is the goal.) Paraffin wax is soft and scent free to help most skin types clear pores and remove dead skin. Waxing your hands may sound weird however, it's not like that. Paraffin wax isn’t like what you put on your eyebrows. It is meant to stay on for 15-20 minutes and is much thicker forming a glove-like outline of your hands. It leaves my hands silkier than every medicated hand lotion I have ever tried. The end. After time’s up peel the wax off and though it is technically reusable, with everything going on I would just toss it. Paraffin wax is sold at craft stores and takes a few hours to melt in its entirety; AKA ready to use. *Do not use if you have preexisting health conditions or even a rash.*



Fine Feet: I’m not quite sure where I’d be in life without a foot spa. I recently upgraded from my one in fourth grade (thank you very much) to a deluxe tub on wheels with a handle. (I foresee traveling with this bad boy to recreate spa parties in my not so near future.) First I fill with hot water to the fill line and load with epsom salts to aid achy feet and athlete’s foot. I find this soak works best for me because it is not super aggressive. Add dried rose petals and lavender sprigs to the warm water for added benefit and an Insta aesthetic. Just because your place doesn’t have a bathtub doesn’t mean your feet have to suffer. Ankle-down baths are highly underrated. Line the rim of the spa with an arch of candles for flavor. Leave your phone off and in the corner because, if it's on your lap and you lean forward to adjust the temperature it will splash right into the water. Trust me.


A key component of selecting your at home foot spa is it should be a slight upgrade to the tubs you dip your feet in for pedicures at the salon. This way you aren’t tempted to go out when you can have a more serene experience in your own bathroom, with no time restrictions. A spa with a heat source is a must because, not only is red light therapy trending, it will keep your water hot for the full soak. The ideal water temp is about 107 degrees. I like the jacuzzi bubbles but even better if it massages. I find the most comfortable foot spas have a knobbed cylinder to rest your arches on. A feature not included in a traditional pedicure.


For accessories, the Ped Egg does the job if you need fresh skin. For lighter repair any kind of sander going from a rough to smooth gradient is ideal. But, if you only get one thing, it's gotta be a scrub brush pumice stone duo. First scrub with the brush then refine with the stone with the appropriate level of elbow grease. Read, listen to frogs on lily pads, or simply enjoy the art of doing nothing.


Fresh Face: A facial steamer is my go-to when I am stuffed up due to allergies or simply a cold. It’s like a humidifier directly for your face. There’s a detachable nose cone that opens your sinuses like a neti pot, only much more pleasantly. Steamers also promise brighter skin and increase blood circulation as they create a sauna-like experience just for the face. Great for those who don’t want to sit next to strangers in the buff in a full heated sauna. “Okay, so where do I sign?” Facial steamers by Conair and Revlon sell for under $35 on Amazon and at most department stores.



If you want to add a steam to your AM or PM skincare routine, put it in the two slot. First cleanse, then steam. Just add water! to the base using the measuring cup it comes with. Treatment should last about nine minutes which feels kind of long, so ease your face into the heat. With blackheads coming to the surface it is tempting to extract them ourselves but, to avoid scaring leave that to a professional and move onto an alcohol free toner. Seal with your go-to moisturizer. Allow this indulgence one or two times a week.


It is kind of weird to think about the other things that have come and gone in my life since fourth grade in 2005 - the varied interests and the growing up. But, sometimes the most feel good products have one function. And they’ve been doing it right for years. Now, if you don’t mind, I have some relaxing to get to.


109 views6 comments

Recent Posts

See All

6 Comments


Whitney Wisdom
Whitney Wisdom
Jul 14, 2020

Thanks! The foot spa is Belmint brand from Walmart but it's on other sites too. It stays really warm!

Like

mark1618
mark1618
Jul 05, 2020

Your beauty tips are so fun, relaxing and most of all they really work!!

Like

Kim Riggs
Kim Riggs
Jul 05, 2020

Whit...what foot spa do you have?

Like

Kim Riggs
Kim Riggs
Jul 05, 2020

Love these tips Whit! Going to give a few a try! ❤️

Like

mark1618
mark1618
May 04, 2020

You always know how to help others make lemonade out of sour lemons! By this I mean, being stuck in the house can be made into a fun time of enjoying being at home, either alone or with others. This virus doesn't need to give us wrinkles or foot pain, we just need to use a few of your tips and glow through this situation, that will pass through. Thanks for helping us to enjoy the journey!

Like
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page