top of page
  • Writer's pictureWhitney Wisdom

Restaurant Meals Without the Restaurant Part


Broiled cheese plus raw spinach make for a happy and healthy (indoor) you!

I have come to the realization that all my favorite things in life start with the letter F. Fashion, fitness, FM (cause “fusic” isn’t a word), and food. I started cooking mainly because I love to eat. Like, I eat as a hobby. And now that going out to eat is not a thing, people from coast to coast are exploring their stoves. This week I thought it would be fun to take a break from the hard hitting fashion world and welcome new readers to Whitney Wisdom. And low key because, I have so many food pics on my phone and I am sick of drooling over them solo.


Morning Meals: It is perhaps the easiest to get creative at breakfast time because your breakfast besties: eggs and oats are basic gals. This means they will jive with whatever trendy mix-ins you throw at them. Try oatmeal with a freshly sliced peach, shredded coconut, and sliced almonds. Allergic to nuts? Well, then don’t put them in! For a dessert-y take, slice strawberries and stir in a dash of cinnamon and a gob of Nutella. Chia seeds are a minuscule baby but can add lots of texture and nutritional value to your morning meal.


It's no secret oatmeal has been trending. And now you don't have to make it overnight!

My favorite thing to do with eggs is to shroud them in flour tortillas. Whether that be into a quesadilla or taco. An egg and cheese quesadilla is like a clean pair of jeans - such a blank canvas. I make like a college girl by adding whatever I have in my fridge: buffalo sauce + ranch or avocado + salsa are old faithfuls. It is satisfying to know a brunch quesadilla plate at a restaurant would put you back like $12 minimum. You just saved so much cheddar. Turn that $12 into a pair of earrings, or you know, save it.


Afternoon Adventure Break: Nothing says lunch like a sandwich! Upgrade from icky Lunchables meat and cheese to a sausage parm and spinach toast job on an English muffin or ciabatta roll. Half a mild or spicy sausage and fry it up flat side down. Either reach for a jar of marinara sauce or make your own: tomato sauce, tomato paste, oregano, garlic powder, basil, and red pepper flakes stirred in a saucepan to your liking. While you wait, half an English muffin and sing along to your favorite Billy Joel song…which should be Scene From an Italian Restaurant.


I believe sauce should not have a limit so I presauce each side of the English muffin, then layer on the sausage + more sauce, followed by raw spinach leaves. Provolone cheese serves as a melty lid for this open face sandwich. Toast in an oven or toaster oven on broil or the lowest heat setting for as long as you can bear to wait before diving into your cheesy adult sleepover meal. To make this lunch more portable for office days dinner in the park (on your own blanket) eat handheld – not open face and insulate with foil.


A red sauce dollop could change a life.

A few plating options here: authentic 90s style with gushers, a Sunny-D, and a cosmic brownie for dessert or pub style with kettle chips and a pickle. On this particular day I health-ed up the pub by subbing pickle’s cousin: cucumber for chips.

Something that I think about as much as touching a certified Chanel quilted chain purse, is the sweet potato fajitas I made with HelloFresh. Mexican food is always my top pick (as you probably figured based on this list) though, I was skeptical about mixing sweet and savory as a main entree. But baking a sliced sweet potato coated in cumin (and other southwest seasoning) rocked my world. This dish was my gateway to mixing it up. Wait for it, I began making fajitas more than tacos. (Which I know, is like duh, cause in a restaurant fajitas are like $18 and tacos are $3 on the side of the road.)


Sweet potato fajitas. The shrimp + zucchini ones I inhaled too quick to take a pic.

My fave fajita that I’ve chef-ed up is a Cali inspired peppered shrimp and zucchini boy. I don’t love peppers so, I cut zucchini ($1.69 for three at Aldi) into sticks and fried it up with onions and olive oil. Cut more zucchini and onions than you think you need, they’ll shrink. If you have ever been to Hibachi, you know zucchini soaks up more flavor than most veggies so, I flavored mine with a Cajun seasoning blend inspired by Border Cafe (A Delaware Icon) and kept the shrimp flavor basic with pepper.


Dinner Winner: Once you've had naan bread you’ve mastered life. The end. Though I did not make this tikka masala with spiced carrots, and basmati rice, I photographed it and took detailed notes before and after helping myself to seconds. You need: chicken (It is back in most grocery stores if you go at off times and after stocking. If not make it up and use pork, beef, or even fish.) 1 onion, 1 bell pepper, a bag of baby carrots or whole carrots (doesn’t matter), oil, curry powder, and white rice. To keep the ingredients list *exclusive* snag a jar of tikka masala sauce from your closest specialty grocer.


If only my self portraits looked this good...kidding (kinda)!

Chop the onion and bell pepper into large adult-sized pieces, then saute. Season your veggies with curry powder + S&P. Meanwhile, cube chicken (any meat you found), coat with the same seasonings and add to the pan once onions soften. You know the chicken is cooked when it can easily be halved by a poke of the spatula. Add secret sauce to simmer - covered for 14 ish minutes. Listen to Hey Jude twice.


This article is dedicated to my dad who is off somewhere (his house, let’s be real) explaining how restaurants are an essential part of life. I couldn't agree more. Until then let’s get frugal and creative in the kitchen!


Just because looking at food is soooo fun, here is some more inspo to keep your quarantine kitchen fire.


I don't have to tell you how comforting mac 'n cheese is but, here's a reminder.

Goat cheese, spinach, and lemon chicken: a rare delicacy.

Flexin' my mussels diablo over Goya rice.

Egg pasta is the most of-the-moment meal due to it's low cost. You're welcome!
68 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

1件のコメント


kschnelly
2020年3月30日

I’m hungry now! Everything looks delicious

いいね!
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page