top of page
  • Writer's pictureWhitney Wisdom

Pack These Outfits for a Long Weekend at Rehoboth Beach


Happy face in a happy place! Happy 4 Years Whitney Wisdom Blog!

As I go into year four of this blog, a lot has changed. I’ve developed new hobbies since I first launched Whitney Wisdom Blog in 2019. So, as you may have noticed, Sunday is still the night to check for new articles, but writing new articles every single week has become less attainable. I’m spending more time swimming, reading, and researching fashion on the streets as I make traveling the world a focus.


When the New Articles Will Come Out: You can subscribe to my blog by scrolling all the way to the bottom of my home page where it says “Subscribe Form.” Subscribing to my blog gets the articles emailed to you for free right as they are posted. (Never any spam!) Or you can send me your email address and I’d be happy to sign you up! You can also follow my Instagram @whitneywisdomblog to learn about the latest stories.


Back to the Article: Instead of doing my typical year in review recap, I decided to write this article, (celebrating my special four year blog anniversary,) by writing about one of my favorite (genres?) of style: beachwear. I grew up in a town near the coast during the era of seashell chokers, mini tennis skirts, big hair clips, and bitty braids. As I began the journey of developing my personal style for the very first time in the 2000s, these were the pieces that first allured me into the fashion world.


I like to measure a successful summer by the number of times I get to say hey to the ocean. On this blog, over the past 4 years, we’ve talked about bathing suits each year because nothing gives a rush of endorphins like shopping for swimwear in February! But, I’ve never really covered trendy clothes to wear to the beach at night. Here’s a quite literal peep into my suitcase for a long weekend at the beach!


Neon Brights: I have two secrets for those who wish they were more tan. 1. Go outside more and if that is not possible 2. Wear bright colors because they will always be the best at adding faux pigment to your skin.


Wear the colors of the sunset!

This target mini skirt is dotted with neon flowers of all hues making it easy to match a variety of tops back to it. For the beach, I opted for this blue high neck tank in a sheen, almost sparkling fabric. I like high neck tank tops for post sunbathing since my chest and shoulders get the most sun. I like to give my upper half an opportunity to rest and recover under cool cotton. Tight and bright glittery tanks tap into the Barbiecore aesthetic in an unexpected non-pink way. I top with some bright gold chains with beachy charms like a palm tree. I scrunch my post-shower, naturally straight hair into a claw clip to help twist it into mermaid waves for the next day.


Sandy Tonal: Chameleoning to your atmosphere is a good tactic for always staying in style. I use the many tan colors that make up the sand along the Atlantic Ocean as my muse for this coastal cool look! I turned many heads on the boardwalk (Which is honestly hard to do as I consider the boards the people-watching capital of America.) since skirts get the rep of being *fancy* even though they are just as comfy as cutoffs. I love pairing tops with skirts that match so closely it looks like they could be stitched together into a dress. These two make a dynamo duo due to the top’s fringe border and the skirt’s ruffled edge.


My kind of Dune.

I pull part of my hair back to tame the fly away pieces and show off some gold hoops. I add my trusted tribal rope necklace that has stood by me for too many years to count. My woven bag, though subtle, helps elongate the look and add texture. Finally, I slide into cloth espadrilles that are always a yes for a beach trip because they shake off sand easily and pack flat into luggage. I’m noticing that there’s at least two reasons why each of these pieces finds their way onto a beach trip with moi.


Terry Cloth & Mesh: Looking good while actively sweating a salt/sunscreen mix has always been a fashion moment I’ve struggled with. I think I’ve finally nailed the active surfer girl look! I always need a hat because my hair is too long to rely on just a headband to keep it out of the way. I started buying coverups that match back to my favorite ball caps because, odds are you wear them on the same day? High!


I was trying to be a Thrasher's influencer but ate all the fries before I was ready for a photo! Thrasher's are THE fries!

Terry cloth aka that towel material that the French invented is at the forefront of 2023 fashion. What better time to slide into a terry cloth romper than after a saltwater swim? Mesh, holey sweaters, and basically any fabric that makes it look like you were caught in a net, is still holding strong this summer. I just got a loose knit top and terry cloth shorts (With deep, almost man-sized pockets!) in nautical colors to give off the “I’ve got a yacht” vibe. Sometimes my fashion choices help me dream.


Two-Tone: Split tops aren’t only for the indecisive! I love wearing two-tone black and white when I go out to beach bars because I love all the metaphors a top like this can bring. Day v. Night. The Angel v. Devil on my shoulder. Anything is possible when surrounded by vacationers and their orange crushes! It’s hard to see in the photo but the center is a heart with a swirled flames around it that reminds me of the likes of Sublime. (If you want to flip back I also wore this top to Olivia Rodrigo’s Sour Tour. Read here.) I completed the 2000s inspired look with a denim mini skirt and a purple beaded necklace. Because, really, who would I be without necklaces and jean skirts?


45 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page