top of page
  • Writer's pictureWhitney Wisdom

I’m a Professional Stylist. Here’s the Advice I Give My Clients.


Step into my office...

I’ve actually been writing about fashion now more than ever! 20 hours more to be exact. As some of you know, I recently became a Stitch Fix stylist. Stitch Fix is the easiest and cheapest way to have a personal stylist pick out your clothes. Perfect for people who don’t have much time, don’t like shopping, or simply aren’t sure how to put outfits together. (No shame! We all have our strengths!)


Listen: it's weird times. Maybe you need help getting dressed? Let’s make the simple things simple. I can help you define your own style. I am the person who picks out five special pieces based on my client’s one-of-a-kind body shape, purchase history, lifestyle, career, likes/dislikes etc. With each “Fix” I write a personalized note explaining how to style each clothing or accessory item and why it is right for you. I style dozens of clients every evening and here is the advice I’ve been shelling out for Spring/Summer 2021.


1. Olive green is a top trending color for Spring 2021.

Green is great for Spring each and every year, ‘cause grass. But with how trendy brown has been, it’s best to mix a little brown into that Kelly Green and what do you get? Olive. Olive is a more colorful neutral. An enigma, I know.


Wear it with: Dark colors deserve some lightness. Olive is made royal with gold accessories and lighter denim.


Having someone present you with options is sometimes all you need to discover your personal style.

2. A new pair of jeans is the quickest and easiest way to refresh your wardrobe. Which brings me to...lighter denim for Spring. Not every trend has to be outlandish. I just feel like people really settle into their one favorite pair of dark wash skinny jeans and wear it like a second skin. A tip I always put in my stylist's note, “Wearing a new pair of jeans with even your most go-to reworn outfits, suddenly makes them feel new.” I love a straight leg pale blue pair of jeans for Spring that you can cuff to a variety of lengths. Make sure your Spring jeans are a little looser than your Fall ones so you can cuff comfortably and not feel restricted. I also find very light denim easier to clean than straight-up white denim. Something to consider.


Wear it with: Literally everything. They’re still jeans, no matter the color.


3. Loungewear tops can be worn for more than sitting around.

Loungewear is a newer category that retailers want to last forever, and ever. However, (See what I did there with all the “evers”?) with an end to the Pandemic in sight, clients want to dress “normal” or even a little fancier for the time they spend in public. Cropped tops meant for lounging or light exercise like yoga, pilates, or walking are often made from 4-way stretch, moisture wicking material. Our regular tanks and t’s are not. So especially if you're a sweaty sis or the sun is just shining partially bright one day, don’t be afraid to dress up (OMG!) your active top with a midi skirt, hoops and chains, and mules. Remember: your new active top is not married to leggings. She can date around.


Wear it with: The lounge top trend right now is a longer-than-a-sports-bra but, shorter-than-a-tank length. AKA amazing with high-waisted skirts and fun flowy pants!


The finishing touches are my favorite part about styling. How they play off of drape and silhouette are so important.

4. Beige cardigans are a wardrobe superhero.

Stitch Fix has a wide assortment of cardigans because our clients love layering! Layering is especially important for seasonal shifts and when going from indoors to outdoors many times a day. Beige cardigans in the shape of your choice are a top tier pick because they match equally to cool and warm colored clothing.


Wear it with: Everything. Keep a beige cardigan in your car or commuter bag right there nestled next to your keys. You just never know.


5. This is a piece I like to call “season-all.” And of course, I continue to share the gospel of “season-all.” When looking to redo your wardrobe it is so important to find sustainable pieces that can be worn many ways and in all kinds of temperatures. It helps reduce global waste and makes it easier for you to get dressed each morning with core pieces you can rely on. Would you rather have a whole posse of surface-level friends or run with a tight crew who will be there, no matter what?


Wear it with: Back in Fall 2019 (What a great year!) I did a full article on what are Season-All Pieces and how to make them work for you. Read here.


A different overshirt worn loose, changes the whole concept of this look.

For more styling tips and tricks, request me as your stylist by filling out your style profile and writing my name in the Fix request’s box here. Anything special your shopping for? I can help you find it, if you put it in that request box!


*This article represents my personal opinions and not Stitch Fix’s. Stitch Fix has not approved nor asked me to publish this article. This article reveals no proprietary information retaining to Stitch Fix and has zero affiliation. Stitch Fix is a household name I used so my readers would know what I am talking about.*



52 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page