top of page
  • Writer's pictureWhitney Wisdom

How to Throw a Taylor Swift Party


Sooooo excited to go to the Eras Tour with you all!

I’ve been throwing Taylor Swift parties since 1989. The 1989 album came out in 2014, my freshman year of college. Those days were all about meeting new people and making new friends so when one of my hallmates bought the new album on iTunes (Taylor Swift was not on streaming at the time.) I suggested we blare it down the hall. People will just come out of their rooms and dance in the hallway, I said. And they did. Sweatpants from the bookstore on, Kraft’s Easy Mac in hand. That is how I made my earliest college friends.


But Everything Has Changed since then. The love of Taylor’s music has since grown into an obsession. Acting as a Swiftie, now is a whole lifestyle choice and not just a made up word to declare your fandom. Even Swift’s haters, admit she in fact is a Mastermind. So whether you’ve been wondering who Drew is from Teardrops on My Guitar (2006) or just began to ponder what truly happened on April 29th (The day I am writing this because I too have fallen victim to the Easter egg hunting.) in High Infidelity (2022), here are the best ways to throw down Swiftie Style.


1. Themed Snack Board: If you know me literally at all, you know I am all about the snacks! Hosting a party for Red is certainly the easiest theme, as for Red Taylor’s Version I served all red snacks. Strawberries, bell peppers, salsa, Dorito’s, etc. I also made the red velvet cupcakes from the brand new music video for I Bet You Think About Me.


I wasn’t able to host a Fearless (Taylor’s Version) party but I’d recommend doing a “fear is not a factor” challenge board featuring extreme flavors like spicy, sour, etc.


For Midnights I searched every major retail chain to get a bowl of Midnight Milky Ways to put out. I got more creative and put out a Midnight’s Munchies Board AKA all the things you’d want to eat at midnight like tots, pretzel bites, and onion rings with various dips! One of the dips was just a bowl of Old Bay haha. I also turned off all the lights and plugged in some parties lights instead to create the midnight atmosphere without having to stay up so late!


All this plus a champagne flute at entry to welcome in Midnights.

I am still brainstorming what to serve for Speak Now (Taylor’s Version), the probable next release. The album and its cover give princess vibes so I am thinking of going with a royalty inspiration! Maybe an Enchanted tea party. On the Speak Now tour Taylor hosted a “T. Party” after each show where random fans were selected to come backstage and meet her!


2. The Activities: What separates a Taylor Swift party from a regular Friday night with drinks and snacks is there has to be Taylor Swift activities to guide the conversation. Without activities everyone will just keep saying “this song is my favorite” over and over which, I guess, is not the worst thing in the world. But,I have an open door policy where anyone who’s a Swift supporter can come through, so the games help everyone get to know each other.


Even the couch was in theme.

Bingo: For the Reputation release, I was a senior in college and was overly ambitious and wanted to listen to every song on every album in order and then ultimately end with the new Reputation record. This was like 6 hours of music so I created Bingo cards for a guided listening experience. I knew I wouldn’t get bored but didn’t know about my guests! I found a Bingo generator online and filled in the spaces that are notoriously in Swift’s lyrics such as love, town, midnight. When Taylor sang that word while we were listening to the songs you crossed off the space until you got Bingo! Loser takes a shot (remember it was college.)


Lyric Bracket: Even without, All too Well 10 minute we were all blown away by Red (Taylor’s Version.) The rerecords created a mix of nostalgia and newness aka ideal party vibes! I knew I wanted to do something special to celebrate the song that will forever change the music industry, All too Well 10 minute version. We created a lyric bracket where everyone could casually vote by putting their initials next to their favorite lyrics from All too Well 10 minute until we got to a final winner: You kept me like a secret, but I kept you like an oath. For Midnight’s the bracket was adapted to include lyrics from all albums that said the word “midnight.”


Best bracket!

Swift Scattergories: Really when inventing these games I just think about group games I already like to play and then get creative to make my own Taylor’s Version. For Swift Scattergories I made three different lists of categories ranging from, awards won, vault track, to breakup songs and then we used a random letter generator to give the letter and everyone wrote their answers on their notes app. All unique answers scored points and the rest were crossed off. I put the lists on a Powerpoint which I projected on my TV. This is definitely the most challenging game but great for puzzle lovers. Winner got an LA Colors box of cosmetic samples.


3. Obvious Things: I think it goes without saying but ask your guests to show up in themed outfits and bump Taylor Swift music and Taylor Swift music alone the entire party! If the party is to celebrate an album release I typically put on the full album to listen through the full way. We talk about the songs and just sing along. Meanwhile, while the activities are going on or the party is past its peak I usually put on a mix of other Taylor Swift albums, songs Taylor is featured on, and deep cut remixes or live performance recordings.


He was sunshine, I was midnight rain.

4. Dream Eras Tour Setlist: If the party is to celebrate the Eras Tour then really any mixing of songs goes! I recommend piecing together a dream Eras Tour Setlist as in if she plays this particular collection of songs/mashups you will need CPR! I know you’re all just dying to know so here is mine. Note: I did not look up any spoiler setlists so this is just my ideal concert in no particular order. I limited myself to 20 songs and then 7 mashups that just make a lot of sense to me. I attended the Red, 1989, and Reputation tours so I have already heard the majority of the songs on those albums at Lincoln Financial Field so my dream setlist will include less songs from those eras.


-All too Well 10 minute

-Hits Different

-Cruel Summer

-Sparks Fly

-The Way I Loved You

-I Bet You Think About Me

-Fearless

-Death by a Thousand Cuts

-Karma

-Lover

-Anti Hero

-Paper Rings

-Question?

-White Horse

-Forever & Always

-Bejweled

-Last Kiss

-This is Me Trying

-The Very First Night

-Cornelia Street

-Daylight


Mash-ups: These songs are strong enough where I would want the full song but I think would work really well together lyrically or musically. And we know Taylor loves both storytelling and surprises!


-The Story of Us/The Lucky One: A story with the theme: it all works out in the end.


-False God/Dress: A rated R moment.


-Glitch/Delicate: A glimpse into Taylor’s psyche is given when thee two narrative align.


-Renegade/High Infidelity: A jump in lyrics but essentially, the same music.


-Gold Rush/Fly, Eagles, Fly: A nod to Taylor’s hometown show.


-Dear John/Gravity by John Mayer: A burial of a bad man. I want Taylor to learn his exact guitar solo on Gravity and rip it with that sarcastic smirk no one can replicate.


38 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page