top of page
  • Writer's pictureWhitney Wisdom

Engineer your Perfect Engagement Photoshoot

Last weekend I was at a wedding, getting introduced to someone new and they asked: “Oh! Are you an engineer like your fiance?” I’ve never been asked if I’m an engineer before so I couldn’t help but laugh and say: “No, I work in fashion.” As they took in my backless, silky, cherry printed gown, mini bag, red lip, and strappy black kitten heels, they too nodded as if it all made so much sense. But really I should have said yes I’m an engineer! I engineer looks day in and day out. I engineer coordinated garments, while I weigh their color schemes and functionality, and balance accessories. 


When I first got engaged, I announced that I didn’t want to do an engagement shoot because, I thought it had to be a corny series in a garden or some other lackluster setup, where you inserted me in a white dress, my fiance in a collared shirt, copy & paste, rinse and repeat for the next couple. Most of the engagement shoots I’ve seen have felt so impersonal. Like it's a new age thing everyone just had to do for social media clout. Pass.


Then I remembered who I am and what I do. Everything I do is thoughtful and with purpose. I live for a fashion challenge!  In this case, I had the opportunity to create a story in a bunch of stills. Where the viewer draws conclusions solely based on the outfits, the models, the scenery, and the lens in which all these elements are captured. 

I wanted to clue you in as to how I did it. So you too, can get the creative juices flowing to help capture your love stories in the way that is most sincere. Whether it's an engagement shoot, a friendship series, or an anniversary session. Love blooms in many forms! Let’s document it the right way!

Step One: The Vision

Most people (no offense) skip this step and are therefore doomed from the start! It is never a good idea to throw yourself into a project before mapping out the end goal in your head. Styling a photoshoot is no different! Your vision can be a simple phrase you keep in the back of your head. As you make more decisions, think about if you’re sticking to the vision or not. My original vision was Vintage Travelers, which I updated to be more specific - 1960s Travelers. Right off the bat, I knew this meant that we needed old school luggage, passports, and a newspaper to set us back in time. Everything I picked from the location, the outfits, the photographer, and props was centered around my 1960s Travelers theme.

Step Two: The Location

You can choose the location to match the outfits or the outfits to match the location but, in my many years of styling, I’ve found most people are more comfortable with the latter. I knew my location would be Philadelphia which made the most sense for both my love story and my vision. We choose Old City to be authentic to the vintage vibe. I knew I wanted to shoot inside a timeless pub. There are so many fun ways you can play with food and tell a cool story in a restaurant. I pre-ordered cocktails and raw bar apps for our shoot. I always find modeling easier when I have things in my environment to interact with. I explored many websites and also went to many happy hours across Old City until I came across the most perfect red leather interior, paired with dripping candle sticks, a vast menu of seafood, and classic literature. Bookbinders, now known as the Olde Bar, was perfect! When shooting inside an establishment you always need to ask for permission. The Olde Bar didn’t charge us for using their space and let us come in 30 minutes before they opened. That’s right - the majority of our photos were captured in 30 minutes! I was shocked, too!

Though I was most excited about the Olde Bar being our backdrop, I wanted to do a second outdoor location in case the lightning at the Olde Bar was too dim. The second location was harder to pick but we went to the Merchant’s Exchange building due its exquisite architecture and proximity. The Merchants Exchange building had a variety of white marble slabs holding it up. With the lightness of this background I dubbed our secondary vision 1830s Romantics. This was, of course, a nod to Taylor Swift and her favorite, post-Napoleon decade, the 1830s.


Do not let your photographer, whom you’ve likely just met pick your location. It should be somewhere that is authentic to your love story.

Step Three: The Outfits

I was bubbling with excitement to pick both my outfit and my partner’s. I had originally thought of renting a white dress. I was eyeing a long pleated skirt connected to a white twill blazer - all in white, because now’s the time. Then I fell in love with this black strapless dress at a ridiculous ticketed price, covered in bows. I loved the idea of doing a full bow theme because bows are just as trendy today as they are a nod to the past.  This dress stayed in my head because it looks like a deconstructed tuxedo and looks chic with a birdcage veil. 

Also right when I found out I was going to be a bride I knew I needed a netted birdcage veil like I need water. Birdcages were most popular in the 1940s, when times were tight and fashions were simple but exquisite. The 60s were my muse for Pat’s outfit, so I felt like if we were in the 60s the birdcage veil could have been passed down from my mom. The lace gloves to the wrist were a last minute add on for close-ups. I’ve always liked the texture and softness a touch of lace brings to a look.

In most engagement shoots the girl looks great and the guy looks just ok. I really wanted Pat to be in on the theme. I wanted our outfits to make us look as cohesive as we think. Like a pair. The boy version of 60s Travelers: includes a thick striped sweater-style bowling shirt. The kind I always saw my Grandpa wearing in his post-grad years with black slacks. Pat and I wore the same sunglasses - white for me and black for him to make us look like celebs inside the bar.

The only reason to spend time changing into a second look is if the second look is actually going to be different. I juxtaposed the glam black of our first look with pretty romantic tans in the second look. As a ballerina, I’ve always loved how tulle moves with its wearer. Wearing this tulle tiered dress to the outdoor portion of the shoot made sense. If you’re doing an outdoor shoot I recommend wearing lightweight fabrics and a hair scarf so the breeze can do its thing. The intricate chest buttons and my pointed, lace up boots, and oversized trunk are the perfect nod to the launch of the Victorian Period, the 1830s.


I was really happy with how different Pat’s second look looked from his first. If you’re trying to organize two different looks for a guy I recommend having one with a tucked in shirt and one untucked and opposite colors.

Step Four: The Photographer and/or Videographer

Finding the right team to execute your vision makes a world of difference! Selecting our wedding photographer and videographer has taken us longer than any other vendor and rightfully so! The photos you keep for when your memory fades. 

I was super upfront with every photographer that I met with that I wanted my photos in an editorial style. This means I want to look like I am in a fashion magazine. After doing this shoot, with my photographer Kirsten Ann Photography and videographer, Patrick Kelly Films, I am extra excited about the wedding! Kirsten came up with all the poses we did, which took us in our hot outfits and all the props I unpacked to Timeless Lover Land.


I also talked with photographers about doing a lot of black and white edited images. Black and white filters tend to pop best when the focus of the colored image is also in black and white. This is why I decided to keep our outfits to those two colors. (Except, I couldn't help myself with some rose gold heels.)

Step Five: Day of Logistics

Consider bringing on a trusted Studio Production Assistant, AKA a friend to help with a quick change, carry your props, and let you know if you have lipstick on your teeth or smooth out your hair if it gets messed up.


I’d love to set up a little side gig where I help engineer your next photoshoot! I had a blast doing this so if you’re engaged or working on a similar shoot send me a message and we can call or text about your ideas and how I can help style and organize!

230 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

1 Comment


kschnelly
Jun 25

Love this!

Like
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page