top of page
  • Writer's pictureWhitney Wisdom

Dress for the Stars

Updated: Nov 3, 2019


Feelin' fly in my Lover inspired outfit! Peep the furry purse!

Taylor Swift’s 7th album, Lover is about to drop and I just can’t calm down! As I devote my mental capacity to daydreaming about new T. Swift tunes, I find myself trying to be more like Taylor. Let me explain.


I trekked to Swift's childhood home in Wyomissing, PA with the intention of shooting here however, it started to downpour as soon as I arrived. Should of known, T. Swift has a thing for rain!

I’ve never been one to get all starry-eyed about celebrities or follow all their breakup/makeup drama but, what I do find amusing about celebrities are their outfit choices. Celebrities have access to the best-of-the-best in terms of design and styling teams and they are constantly under the public’s eye. These two factors make celebs a great place to draw inspiration from. Check out my looks inspired by top earning musician Taylor Swift’s album art of the past, present, and future! (Love Taylor? Great! Hate Taylor? These tips can apply to virtually any celeb style, so read on!)


A solid color sweetheart chiffon dress draping down to the floor is the definition of 2011 formal wear. That is exactly what Swift wore for the cover shoot of her 3rd album, Speak Now. It is hard to see the exact cut on the way Swift poses with the dress circling around her but a girl just knows. I, by chance, wore a very similar sweetheart chiffon dress to my 2013 prom. My prom dress was updated with a jewel encrusted bodice and open back. Real hot.


2011 Speak Now album art. Taken from wikipedia.com


Spinnin' like a girl in a brand new dress!

Like most people, I don’t work in an industry that necessitates or encourages the wear of ball gowns. To “knock-off” this look, go with a fairly simple cocktail dress in a flattering shape. I like a sleeveless because it is comfy to wear year-round with a moto jacket and an open back cause it shows my swimming muscles. (Flaunt what you got ladies!) Don't love your back? Turn the dress backwards and voila! Plunging neckline.


You know how I feel about headbands. Trade your baseball cap for a crown!

To not look like you are waiting for a ride to Homecoming, opt for a dress with grown-up texture. Pleating is always a win these days. Still keep the purple.I love purple on the principle of being the color a standard for nobility for thousands of years. Swift wears hers with 40s-esque ankle strap heels. Nothing replaces a saddle shoe for a stroke of old-time innocence. Or go the opposite route, with a printed stiletto for a pop of new age fun.


From Reputation to Lover Swift has a reverse Sandra Dee move goin’ on. Let’s talk Bad Sandy first.


'Bout to go on stage to rock a million faces...I hope the people like clarinet music cause that's all I can play!

What’s hot? Swift’s slicked back hair, studded rings, and 90s chokers. What’s not is her tattered sweatshirt. PSA: reserve ripped clothing for denim only. I am replacing her rag of a sweatshirt with a graphic tank, ‘cause t-shirts aren’t the only piece of clothing allowed to say things! Plus a printed top adds a tiny bit of color to avoid an emo vibe. A dark brown or maroon lipstick goes well here, as well as a maximalist amount of chains and studs.


2018 Reputation album art. Taken from wikipedia.com


Dive bar on the East Side, where you at?

Aqua, iced mint, lavender, pale yellow, and soft pink. Meet the pastel family and welcome them into your closet, just as Swift has with her latest cover art, designed earlier this year. Swift wears all white and pops in hints of happy color. I love that Swift’s look here hones in on one element of fashion: color. Keep texture, fabric, and silhouette straight and simple here. A white + pastel print such thick vertical stripes (thin stripes make you dizzy, horizontal stripes make you wide), stars, or a geo print are the non-color blocking color block.


2019 Lover album art. Taken from wikipedia.com

"I'll go where you go"is the sugary sweet version of "anyway you want it!"

For beauty, Swift opts for facial glitter and dyed tips. I’m all about adding some shimmer to my makeup when the mood is right, but I question the practicality of both of these. The candy-colored hair just won’t come out the same in my brown locks so I switched to blue statement earrings. I love any earring with tassels, of course, but, I am also on the hunt for a fun feather pair to make my outfits more whimsical.


I hope to see you pretty in pastels (sorry Duckie, we wear more than pink these days) on August 23rd as the world anticipates the next #1 album by Taylor Swift! Who’s ready for it? ME!

98 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All

2 Comments


Whitney Wisdom
Whitney Wisdom
Aug 19, 2019

Yes! Scott Swift lived on the North Green. Allegedly so did Kanye's dad.

Like

kschnelly
Aug 19, 2019

Love it! Idk TS home was so close! I also read her dad was a blue hen

Like
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page